Edinburgh Comedy Awards shortlist announced

James Acaster. Pic: Malcolm McCurrach
James Acaster. Pic: Malcolm McCurrach
Have your say

The shortlist for this year’s Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards has been announced.

James Acaster, Alex Horne, and Sara Pascoe are all in the running for the top prize.

Sarah Pascoe

Sarah Pascoe

The awards, now in their 34th year, celebrate the best comedy at the Fringe, with the best comedy show award among the festival’s most prestigious gongs.

Other nominees for best comedy show are John Kearns, Liam Williams, Romesh Ranganathan and Sam Simmons.

Acaster and Simmons have both been nominated in previous years, Acaster in 2013 and 2012 and Simmons in 2011.

Awards’ producer Nica Burns, said: “For the second year running, reflecting the huge amount of comedy talent at the fringe, the shortlist for the Foster’s Best Comedy Show is seven strong.”

Also announced are the nominations for the best newcomer, which include Alex Edelman, Dane Baptiste, Gein’s Family, Lazy Susan, Lucy Beaumont and Steen Raskopoulos.

The winners will be announced in a ceremony on Saturday at Dovecote Studios in Edinburgh.