Healthy respect for the Sick Kids

Royal Hospital for Sick Children visited by Chipperfields Circus

Royal Hospital for Sick Children visited by Chipperfields Circus

0
Have your say

FOR the tens of thousands of families who have been helped by its dedicated team of staff, the Royal Hospital for Sick Children will be held in high esteem.

The much-loved city hospital is most certainly a cause close to the heart of relentless fundraiser Tom Gilzean, who this week won the prestigious Edinburgh Award.

Characters from The Jungle Book meet the young patients

Characters from The Jungle Book meet the young patients

His handprints will now be cast at the City Chambers alongside the likes of Ian Rankin, JK Rowling, Professor Peter Higgs and Sir Chris Hoy.

The 94-year-old has raised a record £50,000 this year – half of which will go to the Sick Kids Friends Foundation – bringing his total to £250,000 since he took up the task at the age of 80.

The former Royal Engineer can be found, come rain or shine, shaking his collection tin in the city centre, doing his bit for a cause he considers so worthwhile.

It is a hospital of which so many people will have memories, including the youngsters pictured here in April 1985 when Princess Alexandra arrived in the Capital to open a new leukaemia treatment centre at the Sick Kids. Many locals gathered in the neighbouring streets to catch a glimpse of her, one lucky girl getting the opportunity to present her with a bouquet of flowers.

Characters from The Jungle Book meet the young patients

Characters from The Jungle Book meet the young patients

In December 1973, memories would have been made for fans of Michael Crawford and Michele Dotrice, well-known then for their roles in the hit television series Some Mothers Do ’Ave ’Em. Pictured here, the actors undoubtedly brought a smile to the faces of many children, their parents and staff with their playful antics.

Such would likely have been the case too in November 1975 when the cast of the Jungle Book arrived at the hospital as part of the Evening News Charity Appeal, the moment captured here on camera.

TV stars Michael Crawford and Michelle Dotrice in 1973

TV stars Michael Crawford and Michelle Dotrice in 1973