Colin Hutchison in frame for full Scotland debut

Colin Hutchison with the Tait Trophy
Colin Hutchison with the Tait Trophy
Have your say

Bainfield indoor bowls star Colin Hutchison is set to make his full cap debut for Scotland in the Home International Series at Stanley IBC in County Durham on March 13-15.

Hutchison, who won 12 caps at junior level, has had to bide his time to make the step up into the senior international arena and is one of 13 players from the Lothian area to be named in the 26-man squad.

“It’s an exciting prospect and great honour to play for your country in the theatre of international competition and I am looking forward to making my debut,” said Hutchison.

Whilst members at the Hutchison Crossway Stadium in the Capital welcome the recognition of Hutchison, there is disappointment that Gavin Smith and Chris Downie have dropped out of the scene after winning 15 and six caps respectively.

East Lothian IBC contribute six of their Garden County stars to the Scotland team in the shape of Willie Wood, Alex Marshall, Scott Kennedy, Derek Oliver, Billy Mellors and Graham Robertson.

Robertson continues to enjoy a fabulously successful career, having 81 caps currently to his name and in retaining the confidence of the selectors to make it 84 is named as team captain for a third successive series.

Wood continues to add to his legendary status. Having made his debut in 1972 and with three more caps in the offing the 75-year-old will move onto the 87 mark of which 18 were won under the banner of the now-defunct Edinburgh IBC.

Billy Mellors – who like Wood, Robertson and Kennedy made their international debuts as members of Edinburgh IBC – is a recall having last played in 2008 having chalked up an impressive 36 caps.

Marshall is currently on a cap mark of 69 having made his debut in 1989 and winning his first 30 under the banner of Bainfield while Kennedy with 39 is an ever-present since 2001. Oliver has been a constant since his debut in 2009 and will move his cap mark to 18.

West Lothian IBC will have four top ranked players on parade in the shape of Neil Speirs, Thomas Mann, Calum Logan, and Bryan Cooper.

Speirs made his debut in 2003 and is an ever-present who will move his cap tally to 36 while Mann extends his run of series to seven and his cap mark to 21. Logan wins favour for his fourth series in a row while Cooper builds on his debut of last season.


Rink 1: Wayne Hogg, Calum Logan, Scott Kennedy, Paul Foster (Prestwick).

Rink 2: Paul Boyd (Prestwick), WW Wood, Iain McLean (Blantyre), Colin Walker.

Rink 3: Martin McCally (Falkirk), Callum Taggart (Paisley), Stewart Anderson (Auchinleck), Darren Burnett (Arbroath).

Rink 4: Brian Irvine (Blantyre), Colin Hutchison, Mike Stepney (Elgin), Alex Marshall.

Rink 5: Ronnie Duncan, Graham 
Robertson, Billy Mellors, Derek Oliver.

Rink 6: Bryan Cooper, Robert Grant (Lanarkshire), Thomas Mann, Neil Speirs.

Reserves: Gary Hutchison (Falkirk) and Martin Williamson (Ardrossan).