Robert Marshall and Co return to boost Bainfield’s chances

Robert Marshall returns to the Bainfield line-up.  Picture Michael Hughes
Robert Marshall returns to the Bainfield line-up. Picture Michael Hughes
Have your say

The Bainfield team has an exciting new look about them for tomorrow’s home match against Midlothian at the Hutchison Crossway Stadium with Robert Marshall, pictured below, and other major talents in the shape of Chris Downie, John McDermott and Gavin Smith returning to the line-up.

It was no big surprise that an understrength team lost at Blantyre in last weekend’s opening match in Division 1A of the Premier League, going down heavily 96-64, as the opposition is close to invincible at home.

Bainfield face another tough task against a Midlothian team who humbled defending champions West Lothian last weekend, and manager Frank Gray has announced an unchanged line-up for the trip to the Edinburgh venue.

Colin MacFarlane, Ronnie Duncan, Billy Peacock will skip the Midlothian rinks, and team captain David Peacock. The much-capped Colin Walker is again an absentee.


Rink 1: Josh Spalding, Danny McCourt, Kevin Tennant, Robert Marshall.

Rink 2: Adam Brock, Alan Brown, Craig Paterson (capt), Barry Hill.

Rink 3: Stephen Pringle, Mark McIntosh, Daniel Gormley, James Hogg.

Rink 4: Chris Downie, Graeme McIntosh, John McDermott, Gavin Smith.

West Lothian are chasing their fourth Premier League title in a row so will be looking for a better performance at home to Coatbridge.

The return to action of team captain Thomas Mann should be a massive boost to morale across the carpet, and to accommodate him Stuart Johnston is switched to the reserve bench and James Speirs moved from skip to third.

West Lothian:

Rink 1: Bryan Cooper, Dougie Mitchell, Des Hagart, Neil Speirs.

Rink 2: Paul Lynas, Raymond Logan, Jamie Gracie, Mark Allison.

Rink 3: Craig Moss, George Sneddon, Paul O’Donnell, Calum Logan.

Rink 4: Cameron Greer, Ian Drysdale, James Spiers, Thomas Mann (capt).

East Lothian suffered a surprise defeat when going down 82-78 to Paisley at the Meadowmill Stadium, so there will a degree of trepidation as they make the long journey north to face an Aberdeen team cock-a-hoop following a 12-shot win away to Falkirk.

It isn’t mission impossible for East Lothian but the absence of star figures Derek Oliver, Billy Mellors, Andy Jeffrey and Gary Muir is a blow to the hopes of the travellers.

Opportunity knocks for stand-ins Andy Burt, Matt Osbourne, Calvin Allison and Lessel Middler in a recast line-up.

East Lothian:

Rink 1: Les Middler, Scott Logan, Gary Darling, Scott Kennedy.

Rink 2: Kieran Simants, Andy Burt, Dougie Berwick, Graham Robertson.

Rink 3: Ewan Fallen, Matt Osbourne, Steven W Thomson, Jamie Higgins.

Rink 4: Calum Darling, Calvert Allison, Mark Johnston (capt), Willie Wood MBE.