Scotland stars to the fore in Top Ten semi-finals

Have your say

COLINTON BC hosts the final day’s play of The Co-operative Funeralcare-sponsored Inter County Top Ten Tournament on Sunday, with Hyndland of Glasgow, Bonnyrigg of Midlothian, Kirkliston of West Lothian and West Barns of East Lothian in the semi-finals.

It’s a day of action that should really grab the attention of thos attending, with current Scotland caps Ronnie Duncan (Bonnyrigg), Steven Forrest, Calum Logan, Grant Logan (Kirkliston), Scott Kennedy, Alister Kennedy, Billy Mellors (West Barns) and junior cap Callum Taggart (Hyndland) are all set to parade their skills.

The semi-final (10am) line-up pitches Kirkliston against West Barns, and Bonnyrigg against Hyndland.

Kirkliston are record four times winners of the Inter County title and Bonnyrigg were crowned champions in 2009 while West Barns were runners-up in 2008. It is Hyndland’s first experience of the event.

The spearhead battle in the Kirkliston v West Barns clash is a major crowd puller with the head-to-head in the Singles featuring two past winners of the national title in the shape of Raymond Logan (1998) and Billy Mellors (2006).

Neil Speirs is excused Commonwealth Games build-up duty and skips Steven Forrest against Ian Thorburn and Scott Kennedy in the Pairs while Colin Smith, John Aitken, and Calum Logan face Kevin Thomson, Scott Thorburn, and Alister Kennedy in the Triples.

Grant Logan – who has just been announced as Scotland captain – skips Robbie Cuthill, Gordon Logan (father), and Mark Allison against Liam Gallacher, Doug Kennedy, Calum Gordon, and Gary Landells in the Fours.

The singles clash in the other semi final is also a real teaser with Ronnie Duncan the spearhead figure for Bonnyrigg against Callum Taggart while it is Calum Redpath and John Stevenson against Alistair Greer and Kevin Bain in the Pairs.

Kevin McDougall skips Neil Linton and Jamie Hanlan in the Triples against Alistair Turner, John McLean, and Stuart McMillan while the rink of Scott Lees, Scott Matthews, Lindsay Plenderleith, and Tam Russell tackle John Lassa, George McCaughey, Stuart Taggart, and Scott Livingstone in the Fours.

The final is scheduled for a 2pm start.

Meanwhile, other Edinburgh and the Lothians players named in the 2014 Scotland International team are James Hogg (Carrick Knowe), Colin Walker (Pathhead), Derek Oliver (Cockenzie & Port Seton), Ewan Shearer (Bo’ness), and Thomas Mann of Newbridge.