Thomas Mann crashes out of West Lothian Masters

Thomas Mann (library pic)
Thomas Mann (library pic)
Have your say

The Commonwealth Games bounce factor went flat for support team member Thomas Mann in last night’s third round of The Scotmid West Lothian Masters, with the No.7 seed from Newbridge crashing to a 21-6 defeat.

Mann’s exit came at the hands of Uphall Station challenger Richard Mark, who turned on the style to out-bowl the reigning WL District champion, counting at 16 of the 19 ends.

And it wasn’t a success story for Scotland’s assistant coach either, with George Sneddon of Broxburn making a 21-9 exit to Robert Hilson, who is a former Champion of Champions from Blackburn.

The Masters lost a second seed in Walter McDougall with the No.9 from Glenmavis losing 21-14 to Steven Lawrie of Springgrove. A night of disappointment for the Kerr brothers of Armadale saw John a 21-16 victim of 14-year-old Jamie Deacon of Harrysmuir and Derek was dealt a crushing 21-4 blow by 61-year-old Ronnie Erskine of Winchburgh.

Grant Knox of Armadale cruised into the last 32 with a 21-9 win over Paul Barrett of Kirkliston, but it was mixed fortune for the McKendrick brothers of Middleton Hall as Connor, the No.13 seed, stayed in the hunt for the £1000 title with a 21-13 win over Ryan Miller of Buchan Park, but 18-year-old Nathan lost 21-15 to Davy Smith of Philpstoun Community.

Bellsburn teenager Ewan Sneddon (14) will certainly remember his debut year in the WLM having staged a run of 1, 2, 3, 1, 4 to steal a 21-20 win over Ian McFarlane of Kinneil.

Seeds Grant Logan (1), of Kirkliston, Cameron Greer (2) of Bathgate, Gary Smith (3) of Linlithgow, Ewan Shearer (6) of Bo’ness, and Steven Fleming (15) of Linlithgow all made comfortable progress.

Broxburn veteran David Wilson was 19-7 down to Ian Russell of Blackburn, but closed to 14 then, with his opponent moving to 20, completed his escape with 2, 1, 2, 2 to 21.

Ross Agnew of Mid Calder finished 3, 3, 3 to beat Ally Greer of Pumpherston 21-15 and there were wins for Scott Halliday (Whitburn), Greg Baldry (Newbridge), David Lamb (Uphall Station), James Speirs (Newbridge), Drew Paterson (Newbridge), and Brian Saunders of Bathgate.