Club coach Alan Moffat hails helpers as Linlithgow cash in

Tommy Coyne. Picture: Alan Rennie.
Tommy Coyne. Picture: Alan Rennie.
Have your say

Linlithgow Rose coach Alan Moffat praised the volunteers who cleared snow off the Prestonfield pitch and allowed his team to secure an important three points against Fauldhouse.

Second-half goals by Calum Smith and Tommy Coyne sealed the win with Moffat saying: “We have to thank the volunteers for clearing the snow and giving us the chance to get a game under our belts.

“Fauldhouse made it tough for us and it took us a while to get into our stride. I’m happy to get the rustiness out of our system before the Scottish Cup game against Culter.”

Fauldhouse came into this match on the back of a superb Scottish Cup win at Kilwinning last week and took the game to Linlithgow from the start. Rose found it difficult to break down a resilient Fauldhouse defence.

After the break, Roddy MacLennan raced clear on goal only to see keeper Andy Murphy come out to block the winger’s effort. At the other end, Michael Gibson came close with an angled drive which sneaked past the far post.

Linlithgow broke the deadlock in the 50th minute with a fine goal. Smith turned nicely in the box before firing home a volley past Murphy.

Just after the hour-mark, Coyne added a second for the Rose. From a corner on the left Kevin Kelbie headed on for Coyne, only a couple of yards out, to prod the ball home.

The visitors came close to scoring on numerous occasions with Clark Campbell pulling the strings in midfield. They finally pulled a goal back with five minutes remaining. A great cross-field pass from Campbell to Scott on the right wing started the move. Scott’s cross found Jamie Robertson and he placed his shot in the back of the net.

It was a great strike and a goal which if it had been scored earlier would have given Fauldhouse a lift.

Linlithgow: Christie, Tyrrell, McKillen, O’Byrne, Ovenstone, Ru MacLennan, Smith, Shirra, Kelbie, Coyne, Ro Mac-Lennan. Subs: Batchelor, Strickland, Kelly, McGowan, McKinven.

Fauldhouse: Murphy, Fallon, Smith, K Ross, Lawson, Campbell, Scott, Browne, Robertson, B Ross, Gibson. Subs: Mahoney, Gallagher.