Edinburgh City celebrate victory against Auchinleck

Ross Allum
Ross Allum
Have your say

Ross Allum’s double sent Edinburgh City into today’s draw for the third round of the William Hill Scottish Cup at the expense of Junior football giants Auchinleck Talbot.

The visitors took the lead in the 12th minute when Wilson opened the scoring from the penalty spot after Paterson had brought down Milliken in the box. City rallied however and took their chance to equalise when they were awarded a free-kick on the edge of the box. Allum fired the ball towards goal and a deflection took the ball past the despairing Leishman.

Talbot’s cause was not helped soon after when Boyd was sent for an early bath having received a second caution for simulation. MacDonald should have grabbed a second for City on the half-hour mark but he shot just wide before Talbot’s Spence rose to a cross only to head the ball straight into Stobie’s arms. City immediately counter-attacked and Gair’s clever pass found MacDonald in the box but he shot wide.

Just before the interval, City grabbed the lead as Allum shot home at the back post following a Gair cross.

In the opening stages of the second half Leishman did well to clear the ball while under pressure from MacDonald before Talbot’s White should have done better than hit a wild shot from distance. City looked comfortable with their lead despite a sustained spell of Talbot pressure when the visitors forced a series of corners but the home defence stood firm, Mbu in particular being a rock in the centre.

The match ended on a high note with play flowing from end to end as first Wilson headed over the bar from a good position before Allum passed to the unmarked Caddow at the far post but the City man was denied by a great block from Leishman. With time running out Talbot desperately sought an equalizer and Pope volleyed agonizingly wide from a good position before Caddow’s slide tackle prevented Latta from shooting at goal.

Edinburgh City: Stobie, Caddow, Donaldson, MacDonald, Paterson, Mbu, McFarland, Gair, Allum, Dunn, McConnell. Subs: Wilson, Torrance, Vanson, Stenhouse, Osborne, Deniran, MacKintosh.

Auchinleck Talbot: Leishman, Park, Pope, Lyle, McGoldrick, Spence, Boyd, White, Wilson, Milliken, Hyslop. Subs: Latta, Connolly, Campbell, Gormley, Armour, Lavan, Kerr.