Garry Aitchison names EoS Select squad

Garry Aitchison. Tynecastle's Kevin Brown is pictured below
Garry Aitchison. Tynecastle's Kevin Brown is pictured below
Have your say

Newly-appointed East of Scotland Football League select team manager Garry Aitchison has named his first squad.

Aitchison’s men will play the Lothian and Edinburgh Amateur Football Association select in the opening game of the season on Sunday, 12 January at Ainslie Park with a 3:00pm kick-off.

Since taking on the role last month, Aitchison has been working hard along with his assistant Andy Jack and coach Paul Cavanagh to get out and see every team in the league play.

Speaking after the announcement, he said: “It’s been a difficult task due to the geographical location of all the teams, once we had seen every team the hard work started.

“There are so many good players that it caused a real headache deciding on a final squad,” he said. “This is the first squad that we have selected, but there will be plenty of opportunities for other players to be selected for future games.”

League chairperson Tom Allison said: “We are delighted with the work Garry, Andy and Paul have done getting the squad selected. They’ve worked hard and everyone in the league appreciates what they’ve done.”

“This will be Garry’s first game in charge, and so far we have been very impressed with his work ethic. He has some great ideas that we will implement as we go forward.

Full squad: Stuart Burnside (Craigroyston), Craig Dickson (Craigroyston), John Dunn (Craigroyston), David Jeffery (Craigroyston), Gary Black (Leith Athletic), Kenny Hall (Leith Athletic), Chris Barrie (Leith Athletic), Kevin Brown (Tynecastle), Ousman See (Tynecastle), John Crawford (Coldstream), Kieran Ainsle (Coldstream), Mark Walters (Coldstream), Lee Walker (Duns), Mark Weatherburn (Duns), Ian Ballantyne (Spartans), Lucas Rusin (Spartans), 
Elliot Sutcliffe (Stirling) University), John Williams (Lothian Thistle), Callum Connelly (Lothian Thistle), Craig Stevenson (Lothian Thistle).