Welfare break Leith hearts to make final

Wayne McIntosh scored an 87th-minute penalty (library pic)
Wayne McIntosh scored an 87th-minute penalty (library pic)
Have your say

A Late penalty converted by Whitehill striker Wayne McIntosh earned the Lowland League club a place in the final of the Image Printers East of Scotland Qualifying Cup where they will now meet old adversaries Spartans.

Whitehill appeared to be comfortably in control of the game with a two-goal advantage and over an hour played but Leith, who play in the Premier Division of the East of Scotland league, showed their undoubted qualities by pulling two goals back before conceding a crucial 87th minute penalty.

The first half finished goal-less although Whitehill, with wind advantage, spurned several chances with Andrew Kidd, Aaron Somerville and Kerr Dodds all missing the target.

However, Leith took the lead just one minute into the second period when Euan Campbell’s low cross was touched into the bottom corner by Robbie Mason. The home side’s advantage was short-lived though as a deep cross from Stevie Manson was hit first time into the net by Dodds. And only two minutes later Whitehill went ahead when Dodds found Somerville unmarked and the striker was allowed to advance unchallenged before slipping the ball into the net from 18 yards.

On the hour-mark Whitehill seemed to have put the game out of sight when Kidd and Somerville combined to set up McIntosh who drilled the ball behind Jamie Newman from ten yards. However, Leith showed true grit and determination when Kenny Hall found space on the left and his low cross was hit into the roof of the net by Mason. Shortly afterwards Lewis Martin was tripped by Whitehill’s Gareth Thom and Grant Burns equalised from the penalty spot to draw the teams level. But Chris Barrie upended McIntosh who duly dispatched the winning goal from the penalty spot.

Leith Athletic: Newman, Barrie, Hall, Simpson, Leslie, Burns, Tracey, Cairns, Campbell, Mason (Combe 75), Martin. Subs: Gordon, Lynch.

Whitehill Welfare: Young, McLaughlin, Sproule (Thom 65), Bruce, Dodds, McGlashan, Manson, A Kidd, McIntosh, Somerville (Noon 74), Martin. Subs: W. Kidd, Hall, Shearer.