Youths: Salvesen 16s hit back to deny Tynecastle

Salvesen 16s
Salvesen 16s
Have your say

Salvesen 16s made a spirited comeback at home to Tynecastle as they drew 1-1 in the Division 1 League Cup.

Despite going down to a Tynecastle opener in the second half, Salvesen pressed on to find a way back into the game. Having seen several chances spurned, their coaches were delighted when the equaliser finally arrived through Robbie Howie’s close-range effort.

With not much between the sides in Division 1, the first half was a tight affair and very physical. Tynecastle looked slightly more dangerous on the front foot and almost opened the scoring after Stephen Dick’s cross-cum-shot had the goalie beaten as it hit the far post before being cleared to safety by Salvesen.

There wasn’t much else to speak about regarding goalmouth action as a strong gathering of family and friends stood freezing on the sidelines urging their respective teams to get forward and score a goal.

Into the second half and the game improved significantly after Tynecastle grabbed the lead.

They played the ball forward and, despite Michael Hunter of Salvesen being fouled in the process, the referee disagreed and continued the play.

Bradley James Sinclair had no other thought but to keep going for goal and, after he nipped past a defender on the edge of the box, the big striker slotted into the back of the net with a low, left-foot finish.

Salvesen seemed to thrive on the feeling of being hard done by at the concession of that goal and almost equalised ten minutes later.

Liam McGarry collected a quick pass from Ryan Marshall’s dead-ball and picked his spot in the goal, only to see his well-placed shot saved by Kieron Ross. The referee was kept busy by a few meaty challenges as tempers were rising. Salvesen’s left-back Chris Buchanan picked up a heavy knock and was forced to play out the remainder of the tie with a limp.

Salvesen captain Kerr Fraser was frustrated twice as two shots fell just short.

His first effort, from just outside the penalty area, was saved with comfort by Tynecastle’s Ross.

The skipper then had a go from a longer distance – around 25-30 yards – and, despite getting a good connection to it with his left foot, the goalkeeper again smothered the ball in his arms.

It wasn’t long after those chances, however, that Salvesen’s frustrations were turned into jubilation. McGarry was fed the ball on the left-hand side and managed to make some space away from a Tynecastle defender before delivering a cross into the box.

The ball was met by centre-back Howie, who connected with it at the right moment to poke home high into the back of the net in the 78th minute.

The goal had been coming and was very much deserved for the hosts – the celebrations from Howie, his team mates and the coaches on the sidelines suggesting a massive feeling of relief.

Salvesen were hungry for another goal and potentially a game-clincher and Michael Hunter thought he had given them it just a few minutes later.

An enticing delivery from a corner kick arrived from the left and defender Hunter headed the ball towards goal from eight yards out, the ball floating up and hitting off the crossbar. Dominic Foulkes spotted McGarry in the centre of the box and found him with a neat side-footed cross. McGarry received the ball and only had the goalkeeper to beat but he lifted his shot narrowly over the bar and out for a goalkick.

It was a golden chance for the winning goal, but McGarry was unfortunate with the effort and the game finished not long after with the Edinburgh clubs sharing the spoils on a wet and windy afternoon at Forrester’s High School 3G.

Salvesen CFC: Kieren Gowans, Michael Hunter, Chris Buchanan, Robbie Howie, Lloyd Livingstone, Ryan Colquhoun, Ricky Kerr, Ryan Ritchie, Jake Hughes, Liam McGarry, Kerr Fraser, Dominic Foulkes, Milosz Pajak, Ryan Marshall.

Tynecastle FC: Kieron Ross, Daniel Matthews, Daniel Headspeath, Aaron Nugent, Kacper Korpalski, Mark Mathison, Daryl Henderson, Dan Hanna, Sonny Swanson, Bradley James Sinclair, Alexander Hutchison, Lloyd Fiddler, Samer Lazim, Jason Aitken, David Imrie, Stephen Dick.