Fusaro handed Calcutta Cup baptism of fire

Chris Fusaro
Chris Fusaro
Have your say

Scotland today named a fifth different back row combination in as many matches for Saturday’s Six Nations showdown with England at Murrayfield.

Chris Fusaro, ex-Heriot’s and now Glasgow captain, makes his debut alongside Ryan Wilson and David Denton as Scotland accept the need for a specialist open-side flanker at the expense of captain Kelly Brown in the wake of a dismal opening defeat in Dublin.

Other changes see the return of Edinburgh centre Matt Scott in place of Duncan Taylor, with Tommy Seymour taking over from the injured Sean Maitland.

On the bench, 19-year-old second row Jonny Gray replaces older brother Richie, with evergreen hooker Scott Lawson preferred to Pat MacArthur.

Fusaro, 24, told scottishrugby.org: “I’m absolutely delighted. Being the Calcutta Cup, there’s no better game to get your first cap. I’m still pinching myself a bit.”

Edinburgh scrum half Greig Laidlaw resumes the role of captaincy that he has now undertaken on three occasions, twice against South Africa and once against Italy.

Scotland team to play England in the RBS Six Nations Championship at Murrayfield on Saturday, (kick-off 5pm): 15 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors); 14 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors); 13 Alex Dunbar; 12 Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby); 11 Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors); 10 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors); 9 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby, capt); 1 Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors); 2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby; 3 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors); 4 Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors); 5 Jim Hamilton (Montpellier); 6 Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors); 7 Chris Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors); 8 David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby).

Substitutes: 16 Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons); 17 Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby); 18 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby); 19 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors); 20 Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier); 21 Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors); 22 Duncan Taylor (Saracens); 23 Max Evans (Castres).

Referee: Jerome Garces (France). Assistant referee: George Clancy (Ireland) and Mike Fraser (New Zealand). TMO: Eric Gauzins (France).