Fire bosses plan to sell off the former fire station at Lauriston, which houses the museum and its unique collection of vintage fire engines and firefighting equipment, as part of their rationalisation following the move to a single Scotland-wide fire service.
But following a campaign to save the museum, fire chiefs have today revealed that it will be moving to a new to a “new purpose-built facility” on the outskirts of the city which will form part of the new East division headquarters.
Assistant Chief Officer, Lewis Ramsay, chairman of the SFRS heritage committee, said: “We are committed to The Museum of Fire and preserving our proud history and heritage.
“As true today as it was in 1824, the primary commitment for the SFRS must be to serve and ensure the safety of the people of Scotland. This commitment is underlined by our move to a new facility in Newbridge which will better support a modern, fit for purpose service.
“We are working closely with Scottish Government and City of Edinburgh Council to secure a new and prominent location that will enhance the museum’s legacy, and provide visitors with an engaging and enjoyable insight to our Fire Heritage.
“The Scottish Fire and Rescue Service appreciates the work and dedication of our museum volunteers and we would welcome their involvement as we work towards identifying and developing the future home of the museum.
“The heritage and history of fire and rescue in Scotland is of extreme importance to the Service and we are committed to retaining the assets within the city of Edinburgh – the acknowledged birthplace of Scotland’s fire and rescue service.”