Fountainbridge/Craiglockhart: Greens make second gain

GREENS made a second gain when Gavin Corbett topped the poll in Fountainbridge/Craiglockhart.

Friday, 4th May 2012, 4:24 pm

And the SNP gained a seat by getting David Key elected

Labour group leader Andrew Burns was re-elected.

But Tory candidate Will Searle failed to get elected in what would normally be seen as natural Conservative territory.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Sitting Lib Dem councillor Jim Lowrie polled just 546 first peference votes.

Labour gained a seat in City Centre ward, where the Lib Dems lost. Karen Doran, who had been defeated as Labour’s candidate in last year’s by-election, said she was “overhwelmed” to win.

Tory Joanna Mowat was elected on first preferences and Alasdair Rankin, the by-election victor, also retained his seat.