Scientists’ city honour

Have your say

TWO Japanese Nobel Prize winners have been honoured by the Royal Society of Chemistry at a ceremony in Edinburgh.

Scientists Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki were presented with RSC Honorary Fellowships on the first day of the society’s International Symposium on Advancing the Chemical Sciences.

Professor Lesley Yellowlees, the president-elect of the RSC, said: “It is not every day you get to meet Nobel Prize winners so it gives me great pleasure to be able to present Professors Akira Suzuki and Ei-ichi Negishi with their Honorary Fellowship on behalf of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

“Many awards and honours have been bestowed on the professors over their long and distinguished careers and it is wonderful they can be with us to receive this latest.”