Six of the best line up for award

Have your say

Six renowned authors from the past century have been shortlisted for a prize by students at Edinburgh University to recognise the best ever winner of Britain’s oldest literary award.

Novels by Angela Carter, Graham Greene, James Kelman, Cormac McCarthy, Caryl Phillips and Muriel Spark are in the running for the accolade.

The Best of the Best of the James Tait Black Prizes will honour the favourite novel to have won the award since it was created in 1919.

The award is being made to celebrate the 250th anniversary of English literature study at the University of Edinburgh.

The six books competing 
for the accolade are Nights At The Circus by Angela Carter, Graham Greene’s The Heart Of The Matter, A Disaffection by James Kelman, The Road by Cormac McCarthy, Crossing The River by Caryl Phillips and Muriel Spark’s The Mandlebaum Gate.

Regius professor, Greg Walker, chair of the James Tait Black Prizes, said: “This best of the best award is a wonderful opportunity to revisit some of the best writers in the literary canon.”