Student body award wins

Share this article
Have your say

STUDENTS’ associations at Edinburgh University and Heriot-Watt have been successful at this year’s NUS Scotland Awards.

Heriot-Watt was named University Students’ Union of the Year while Edinburgh picked up the Community Relations Award.

Individual awards were also presented, with Lizzie Brough of Edinburgh University Students’ Association picking up Union Staff Member of the Year and Mike Baron, formerly of Heriot-Watt Student Association, receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Lothian MSP Sarah Boyack, who has lodged a parliamentary motion on the awards, said: “These awards once again highlight the quality of the student experience in Edinburgh.

“Student unions at institutions across the city, and the wider Lothian region, offer incredible support for students on a wide range of issues.”