New book captures rare glimpses of life in Edinburgh in years gone by but how many of these locations do you recognise?

EDINBURGH trams are seldom out of the news these days, the new Edinburgh trams, that is. However, Old Edinburgh Trams by Kenneth G Williamson, published this month,trundles back into the Capital's past capturing the city's original electric trams.

Monday, 25th November 2019, 4:57 pm
Edinburgh's Old Trams, by Kenneth G Williamson

It was Leith Corporation Tramways that ran the first electric service on 18 August 1905, Edinburgh followed in 1922, and while these periods are touched upon in the book, the majority of images featured are from the 1950s - the last 'old' Edinburgh tram ran in 1956. While the trams themselves are interesting, perhaps the most intriguing aspect of the images black and white photographs that have been together is the unique snapshot they give of a city yet to be transformed by the redevelopment that lay ahead in the 1960s, 1970s and beyond. These shots give a unique glimpse of life in an Edinburgh long gone. Published by Amberley, £14.99

Tram 216 and 52 in Tollcross, the background (which would later become home to Goldbergs) is completely unrecognisable, having been redeveloped several times since this picture was taken.
Bonnington Toll is the location of Tram 225, which has just past under the old Caledionian girder bridge, which carried the line to Leith Central. The shadow of the wall of the Rosebank Cemetery where a memorial commemorates the Gretna rail disaster of 1915 can be seen to the left of the picture. The bridge is long gone.

Sign up to our Retro newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Tram 333 turning into Princes Street at the top of Leith Street, a view that has changed many times since and is currently in flux with the building of the St James Quarter. All that remains from this picture is James Craig Walk (currently closed) along the perimeter of the office of the National Records of Scotland.
Tram 242 passes the site of the former Caledonian Railway's Ferry Road Station, which was never opened to passengers. The site became Pratt Brothers, an electrical business, and is now flats.
Haymarket Station has undergone a massive redevelopment since Tram 347 passed by. The restaurant on the right was demolished to make way for the new tram stop and extension of the station itself.
Trams 159 and 166 (advertising Capstan, a popular brand of cigarettes at the time) on the Broughton Street/Picardy Place junction in 1955. Wattlite Electrical on the right has now been transformed in the club/bar The Street.
Tram No 104 proving that long before Lothian Buses introduced pram spaces, the trams had it covered... albeit somewhat haphazardly. Hopefully the baby was in its mother's arms at the time.
Tram 162 outside the George Cinema (briefly known as the New Cinema and also known as the Central picture House) on Portobello High Street in 1953.
Turning into Slateford Road at Ardmillan Terrace, Tram 58 trundles by a typical Edinburgh street scene of the Fifties, complete with cyclist keeping well clear of the tram lines.
The left hand side of Lothian Road has changed out of all recognition (the old Caledonian Station Goods Yard long replaced by the Western Approach Road, Sheraton Hotel and Festival Square), but the right hand side of the street remains much the same as Tram 52 makes its way past The Shakespeare.
The billboard adverts are typical of their time and while Duke Street has changed it's still just recognisable in this 1953 image, in which Tram 166 heads towards Easter Road.