Strong Scotland team for Glasgow 2014 warm-up

Guy Learmonth will run in a special 600m. Pic: Ian Georgeson. Jame Bowie, below
Guy Learmonth will run in a special 600m. Pic: Ian Georgeson. Jame Bowie, below
Have your say

A STRONG Scotland athletics team has been announced for the Sainsbury’s Glasgow Indoor International at the Emirates Arena on Saturday.

Captained by 400 metres hurdles star Eilidh Child (Pitreavie), who is due to fly home on Thursday from warm weather training in South Africa, the team to face Great Britain, USA and a Commonwealth Select will include seven of the Scots already named for the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Child will run the 400m, hoping to pick up her indoor form from where she left off last year when she won an individual bronze and a 4x400m relay gold for Great Britain in the European Indoor Championships in Portugal.

She will be joined in the relay by Glasgow 2014 1500m choice Laura Muir (Kinross), who will first run the 800m, and Scottish champion Gemma Nicol (Dunfermline), provided Nicol recovers from the hamstring strain which forced her to pull up in the National Open at the Emirates.

Guy Learmonth (Lasswade) and Chris O’Hare (Edinburgh AC) are two more Glasgow 2014 picks who will be in action, Learmonth in a special 600m and 2013 World Championship finalist O’Hare in the 1500m. But strangely, Learmonth’s name does not appear in the men’s 4x400m relay squad, though he was the national (outdoor) 400m champion in 2012.

Edinburgh-based Jamie Bowie gets the individual 400m spot after his startling season’s debut in 47.09 seconds last Saturday, while Lasswade runner-up Greg Louden is named along with Anthony Young (Pitreavie) and West pair Martin Lipton and David Martin.

There is more controversy in the long jump selection, where John Carr is preferred to Allan Hamilton (EAC), the man who beat him at the National Open with a new best of 7.44m, the top in Britain this season.

Jade Nimmo (Falkirk) goes in the women’s long jump with fellow Glasgow 2014 choice and Scottish champion Sarah Warnock (EAC) missing out as no guest athletes will be allowed.