Basketball: Nine Capital stars in Scots squads

Have your say

The Scottish Universities men’s coach Danny Costello has named five of the Edinburgh side he steered to a treble of honours last season in a team of 12 to play the Northern Ireland Universities and the Irish Colleges on a short Irish tour this weekend.

The tour, which both Scotland and Ireland hope will become a reciprocal regular fixture, was set up to replace the British Universities Four Nations Tournament which BUSA failed to organise this year.

The Scots will play Northern Ireland at the University of Ulster at Jordanstown tomorrow and go on to the O’Carroll Arena in Dublin on Sunday.

Edinburgh men won the Scottish Chairman’s Cup, the British Universities men’s Trophy and the Scottish Universities league title this year and included are Michael Kirkpatrick, the son of the Northern Ireland high hurdles record-holder and 1970 Commonwealth Games athlete C J Kirkpatrick, Davy Rowan, Jac St John, captain Ben Warrington and Cyril Wealer.

North Berwick’s Niall Mackle (Aberdeen) is also included, while St Mirren national league players Fraser Glass (West of Scotland) and Dave Johnston (Strathclyde) are also in.

New women’s coach Tracey Phillips has included three Edinburgh University players – Erin Gilbride, who also plays for Glasgow Rocks, Beth Mackie and Hannah Peacock, the Edinburgh Kool Kats centre. Queen Margaret physio student Shauna O’Connor, who played for Kats in the national league in previous seasons and is a full Irish cap, is also named along with former Polonia player Niki Forde (Strathclyde).

Men’s team: 4 Cyril Wealer (Edinburgh); 5 Davy Rowan (Edinburgh); 6 Fraser Glass (West of Scotland); 7 Kyle Haldane (West of Scotland); 8 Niall Mackle (Aberdeen); 9 Ben Warrington (Edinburgh); 10 Michael Kirkpatrick (Edinburgh); 11 Adam Hammerschmidt (Stirling); 12 Jonathan Ndongala (Abertay); 13 Boris Matrakov (Dundee); 14 Jac St John (Edinburgh); 15 David Johnston (Strathclyde); Coach: Danny Costello (Edinburgh); Assistant: Kevin McQuade (Glasgow). Assistant and team manager: Lee Pettett.

Women’s team: 4. Erin Gilbride (c) (Edinburgh University); 7 Paige Onouye (St Andrews University); 8 Mathilde Burnel (University of West of Scotland); 11 Katie Dickerson (St Andrews University); 12 Beth Mackie (Edinburgh University); 14 Shauna O’Connor (Queen Margaret University); 15 Laura Nimmo (Stirling University); 20 Niki Forde (Strathclyde University); 21 Hannah Peacock (Edinburgh University). Coach: Tracey Phillips; Assistant coaches: Ben Gunn; Emma Findlay; Team Manager: Liz Simpson