Sheila Dixon to bow out on Ireland tour

Sheila Dixon. Picture: Ian Georgeson
Sheila Dixon. Picture: Ian Georgeson
Have your say

American basketball star Sheila Dixon is one of five Edinburgh University players named by Scottish Student Sport to play Irish Colleges, Ireland Juniors and Irish League Selects in men’s and women’s four-team tournaments in Dublin tomorrow and Sunday.

The New Yorker, who helped steer Edinburgh women to their first ever wins in the Scottish Cup and Scottish League Play-Offs, joins Erin Gilbride in a side to be coached for the first time by Scottish internationalist Toni Carvill (Glasgow Rocks).

These will probably be Dixon’s farewell games for a Scottish side as the versatile guard hopes to play professionally next season either in England or in Europe.

Three of the Edinburgh men who won the Scottish Universities title with an unblemished record this season and reached the last four of the National League Play-Offs have been included by Capital coach Danny Costello: Jac St John and Ben Warrington, who both played in last year’s narrow defeat to the Irish students in Dublin, and Canadian Chris Evans, who has been Edinburgh’s MVP this season.

Former Edinburgh Kings junior Matt Wilcox, the Aberdeen captain, is included for the first time.

The Scottish side will face a potentially star-studded Irish Premier League Select tomorrow (1pm), Ireland Under-18s on Sunday (10.00am) and Irish Colleges (4pm) while the Scots women open against top Irish club side Oblates (Dublin) tomorrow (11.30am) the Irish juniors (5.30pm) and Irish Colleges on Sunday (2.30pm).

Meanwhile, Edinburgh men, without captain Ben Warrington and starting point guard Davey Rowan, and after a five-hour bus journey, gave a gritty display before losing 91-77 away to Salford in the Premier North Play-Off.

“I couldn’t be prouder of these guys – what an effort – we only had seven on the bench,” said Costello.

Scottish Student Sport teams for Dublin:

Men: Chris Evans, Jac St John, Ben Warrington (all Edinburgh); Chris Barron, Jonny Pettit, Malcolm Winning (Strathclyde); Steve Docherty (Glasgow); Adam Hammerschmidt (Stirling); Boris Matrakov (Dundee); Matt Wilcox (Aberdeen).

Women: Sheila Dixon, Erin Gilbride (Edinburgh); Lauren Ball, Katie Dickerson, Paige Onouye (St Andrews); Taylor McKeown (Glasgow); Laura Nimmo (Stirling); Christie Craig (Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen); Shannon Flippard (Edinburgh College); Yhana Van Wees (Dundee and Angus College).