Alpha males Craigentinny start with win

Have your say

Craigentinny, the holders and record seven-times Division 1 champions of the Alpha Trophies Edinburgh Bowling League, launched their 2015 campaign with a 6-3 win at home to Northern.

Wins for the rinks skipped by Andrew Caldwell and Andrew Jeffrey plus a peel for Kevin McFarlane got Craigentinny off to their winning but Willie McDonald suffered a heavy defeat.

Caldwell held seven shots on his opening end went on to skip Darren Smith, Grant McLaren and Daniel Gormley to defeat Jamie Reid 24-8 .

The second win was more knife-edged as it took a double at the last for Jeffrey and his front-three of Craig McCall, Stuatt Betts and Gordon Bold to clinch a 17-14 battle with Larry Sorrell.

Kevin McFarlane was given pelters in the clubhouse for a overbold last bowl that promoted Northern in for a single shot that gave Ian Miller a 14-14 peel and a precious away point.

Northern increased their points tally to three with Wilson Jnr and his rink of Garry Harison, Darren Prentice and Davy Scott cashing in on a 10-3 lead to punish McDonald 23-9.

Tanfield and Pilrig are the traditional rivals of Craigentinny but the respective six times and twice champions have fallen out of the top league and are spending time in Division 2.

Parkside, champions in 2007 and 2012, won 7-2 win at home to Summerside.

Parkside were denied a 9-0 clean sweep by Summerside star Keith Taylor who carded a double at the last end to skip Neil Nisbet, Mark Fyfe and Paul Jeromson to an 18-17 win over Craig Bryce, David Moran, Danny Jackson and Robert Donaldson.

Wins for Paul Veitch, Derek Smith and Alex Hurry saw Veitch add 1, 1, 3 to lead 12-2 then skip Steven Rennie, Davy Craig Jnr and Brian Salvona to an 18-8 win over Kerr McKail; Smith crossed from 13-14 to beat David Poole, 19-14; and Hurry held on from 12-9 to beat Jim Currie, 16-11.

Queensberry and newly promoted Maitland usually depend on fortress like results at home to keep them clear of the dreaded relegation zone so both are thrilled by 8-1 wins over Leith and Hillside respectively.


Division 1:

Queensberry v Leith: Frank 0’Reilly 23, Gavin Ramsay 11; Brian Pollard 14, Drew Dodds 13; John Kidd 18, Robert Wood 12; Scott Walker 14, Craig Ramsay 14.

Maitland v Hillside: Alan Trotter 16, Peter Brown 8; Alan Flockhart 31, BJ Smith 13; Graeme Mcintosh 15, Gary Muir 8; Brian Higgins 15, Colin Hairs 15.

Division 2: Wardie 2, Pilrig 7; Mayfield 2, West End 7; Postal 7, Goldenacre 2; Tanfield 9, Willowbrae 0.

Division 3: Whitehouse & Grange 7, Brunstane 2; Corstorphine 7, LRF 2; Dean 2, Dudley 7; Blackhall 4, Ardmillan 5.

Division 4: Liberton 7, Tramways 2; Coltbridge 0, Merchiston 9; Seafield 5, Jessfield 4.

Division 5: Bainfield 5, Carrick Knowe 4; Colinton 9, Braid 0; Trinity 5, Portobello 4.