Bainfield win thriller to make Edinburgh Cup final

Have your say

Bainfield’s debut season in the Edinburgh Bowling League is shaping up as a memorable one as they’ve notched up four knockout wins to reach the final of the Specsavers Opticians-sponsored Edinburgh Cup.

Tanfield were the former Water of Leith giants’ latest victims and they represent a major scalp having reached five finals and winning three of them. And, although the onetime leading lights of the EBL are less of a force at present, they are currently runaway leaders of Division 2.

The Bainfield passage into the final was a thrilling one as the semi-final points were shared 6-6 with the shot margin of 91-90 going in their favour.

Whilst it was the unfolding drama on the Tanfield leg that was to trigger the victory salute, developments at Bainfield were of great significance.

There, Bainfield’s Steven Pilley and his rink of Archie Hickstead, Ian Pilley and John Milne produced a 4, 1 finish to register a 20-14 win over Andy McNab.

Stuart Clark skipped Paul Stoddart, Willie Dyet, and David McNair on a purple patch run of 3, 3, 2, 2, to cross into a 21-12 lead then won 21-16. However, dropping that 4 at the last against Tanfield’s Robert White caused nail-biting moments in both camps.

Adam Brock and his Bainfield rink of Jim Cowan, Dick Wilson and Gary Neil added two singles to lead 13-11 but were pipped 14-13 by a 2, 1 finish from Alec Thomson, Jim Murray, Liam McKay, and Mal Higgenbotham.

The focus swung to Tanfield where the Bainfield rink of Murray Brown, Peter Stewart, Davy Baptie and Paul Millar were first off, losing 17-11 but finishing 2, 1 against Stephen Derrighetti, George Mitchell, Derek McLean and Scott Wood.

Craig Paterson and his front-three of Graham Fergus, Jimmy Ross and Stewart Jenkins were the next Bainfield rink to finish and were nursing a 17-12 defeat from Jimmy Smith, George Ganson, Alec James and Neil Russell.

But Paterson’s 2, 1, 1 finish made another vital contribution to the shot aggregate of the match.

The last rink to finish saw the Bainfield four of Graham Angus, Mike Sutherland, Stewart Wilson and Brian Stoddart against the collar at 12-11 down to Kenny Lackie, Stuart Thompson, Ian Duffus and Stuart Campbell.

Stoddart converted the second last end for a double to cross 13-12 then, with points and shots both of major importance, Campbell burnt the last but the replay saw Bainfield clinch game, set and match with a single to 14-12.