Bainfield Women dominate Colinton in Top Ten final

The Top Ten event is always popular
The Top Ten event is always popular
Have your say

The final of the Edinburgh Women’s Bowling Association Top Ten championship at Balerno saw Bainfield crush Colinton 8-0 on points, with wins on all four disciplines – the Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours.

Anna Anderson, the reigning district champion, played the spearhead role for Bainfield in the Singles and beat former Edinburgh Open champion Sandra Slater 21-5 in 17 ends, having raced into a 12-5 lead before producing a grandstand finishing run of 1, 4, 1, 1, 2.

In the Pairs, Karen Tumblety and Cathie Falconer were deadlocked at 6-6 with Ann Mathew and Helen Alexander of Colinton after eight ends. Bainfield then answered the loss of a single with a run of 2, 1, 1 to cross 10-7 and when tested under the pressure of being pegged back to 13-12, they responded with a single to win 14-12.

The Triples saw Bainfield trio Susan Allan, Isa Wilson and Marion Dickson enjoy a purple patch run of 1, 2, 1, 1, 2 that accelerated them to a 15-7 win over Marion Adamson, Sandra Miller, and Nan Tennant. Colinton shone for a spell in the Fours, with the rink of Irene Ferguson, Jackie Donaldson, Laura Thomson and Cathie Stark making a great start to lead 9-2 against Jackie Fairgrieve, Davina Crawford, Eleanor Campbell and Anne Watson. Watson and Co were still operating on the back-foot at 6-12 but came good with a tide-changing run of 3, 2, 1, 2, 2 to cross 16-12 then win 16-13.

Meanwhile, the final of the Evening News Triples saw the Leith trio of Amy Ross, Ina Ewing and Ann Davidson beat Carol Weir, Carol Moran and Sheila Leckie of Lutton Place 15-7.

n THE Specsavers-sponsored Edinburgh Cup takes place at Hillside tomorrow, with leading clubs Craigentinny and Parkside in action.

Craigentinny bid for their fifth title success in the event while Parkside have ambitions to complete a treble, and there is extra edge to the confrontation with the rivals finishing first and second in the recently completed Division 1 league.