Bowls: Aitken and Nisbet chase Junior title

Have your say

Edinburgh bowlers Jamie Aitken of Bainfield and Ross Nisbet of Portobello are among 47 entries into this year’s Scottish Junior Singles Championship at Falkirk and Cumbernauld.

Calum Logan will defend his title and he is joined by his West Lothian clubmate Cameron Greer. The Midlothian banner is carried by junior cap Calum Crawford and the highly regarded Ross Thompson flies the flag for East Lothian.

Bainfield team manager, John Bell, said: “You have to grab your chance when it comes your way and Jamie has shown a high level of skill over the past three seasons.”

Nisbet receives a bye into the first round and meets Inverness at Falkirk tomorrow at 3.00pm while Aitken is on duty at the same venue and goes head-to-head with his Teviotdale counterpart in the preliminary round at 11.00am.

Logan launches his defence against Coatbridge in the morning preliminary round at Cumbernauld while his fellow junior cap pal Cameron Greer heads for Falkirk and opens against Perth.

Ross Thompson and Calum Crawford are also Falkirk bound with the East Lothian challenger facing Bon Accord in the preliminary round and the Midlothian champion lining up against Buchan in the first round.

SIBA selectors Gwyn Jones, John Thomson, Robert Fulton, Ian Murray, and Colin Russell will be scrutinising the proceedings and will meet at Falkirk on Sunday to make their choices for the international trial match at Paisley on November 27.

The playdown action of the ladies’ Scottish Junior Singles Championship takes place on Sunday with a field of 29 at Falkirk and Cumbernauld.

Hazel Crombie carries the hopes of Bainfield and junior cap Alison McDougall represents Portobello while Stacey Laidlaw (Junior cap) and Emma Brown (full cap) are high-profile challengers from Midlothian and East Lothian.

West Lothian will produce their qualifying champion tonight when junior caps Lisa Barrett and Jenifer Richardson line up in their club final at the Inveralmond stadium, Livingston. Crombie will play her West Lothian counterpart in the preliminary round (10.00am) at Falkirk while Laidlaw, Brown, and McDougall also feature, facing Garioch, Stonehaven, and East Fife, respectively.