Bowls: Bainfield fours tournament honours club great Ross

Have your say

Bainfield bowls club is set to pay tribute to the memory of one of its finest sons with a field that is of international calibre to compete for the Alec Ross Memorial Fours Trophy at the Hutchison Crossway stadium this Saturday.

Sponsored by Belhaven Brewery, the prize fund is in excess of £1000.

Alec Ross – winner of the Edinburgh Open at Balgreen in 1995 – was a great supporter of Open Tournaments and a prolific winner of titles while on the indoor scene he was a national 2-bowl pairs champion and capped at mainstream and senior levels.

“Alec was well known and respected as a charismatic personality in the sport and a player of great skill and enthusiasm that brought much success in a dedicated yet entertaining way to the Bainfield club,” said organiser Paul O’Donnell who has lined up 36 rinks including representation from England, Ireland, and also Doune Castle which ranked high in the Alec Ross’ list of favourite clubs.

The format of the event will be nine sections of four teams from which the nine winning rinks plus the seven best runners-up will qualify for the last 16 stage. The session play commences at 9.00am.

The flavour of what promises to an exciting day of bowling from 144 stars parading their skills in honour of the greatly missed Alec Ross can best be gauged from the following selection of rink formations.

Headed by Alex Marshall, he skips Ross Lauder at lead and David Peacock at third plus Stuart Ross – like his late father a Scotland Cap – at second.

Other competitors:

SIBA Champions: Bryan Cooper, James Speirs, Thomas Mann and Neil Speirs.

EIBA Champions: Paul Barlow, Martyn Rice, Trevor Taylor and Stuart Airey.

Bowls Scotland: Graham Pringle, Craig Aitken, Richard Tough and James Hogg.

Ireland: Simon Colvin, Chris Brogan, Graham McKee and Gary Kelly.

Blantyre: Brian Irvine, Jim McCann, Alex Kelly and Iain McLean.

Bainfield: Craig Paterson, Stuart Patterson, Craig Moss and Paul O’Donnell.

East Lothian: Mark Johnston, Jamie Higgins, Steven Morgan and Derek Oliver.

Plus: Robert Marshall, Gavin Smith, Alan Brown, Frazer Muirhead, Andrew Jeffrey, Robert Grant, Stewart Anderson (up from Wales), Billy Mellors, and Angus Blair.