Bowls: Bainfield primed for Paisley poser

Mandy O'Donnell. Pic: Greg Macvean
Mandy O'Donnell. Pic: Greg Macvean
Have your say

Bainfield ladies have two hurdles to clear in their bid to achieve Premier League status for the 2014/15 indoor bowls season – and the first one to negotiate looms this Sunday, with Paisley the opposition at East Kilbride (2pm).

Paisley come into the quarter-final play-off as Division 1F champions and their campaign record reads well with seven wins from eight, putting them four points clear of second-placed Ardrossan, also a shot margin ban of plus 190.

Bainfield compare well enough, though, with five wins out of six bringing them the top of the table honours in Division 1C ahead of the formidable East Lothian team.

The elite of Edinburgh lady bowlers will have to pick themselves up after making a prelim round exit to Falkirk in the Scottish Cup last weekend – but that result, against a top quality Premier league club, was in line with the formbook.

Bainfield can take heart from the knowledge they performed well against Falkirk on the first and third phases of that match and they will stand a real chance of progressing if they can produce and sustain that level of form against Paisley.

The confidence level in the Bainfield camp is high and will be further enhanced by the news of two returnees in the shape of icon Junior Scotland star Mandy O’Donnell and stalwart figure Heather Stoddart.

“There is good competitive experience within our team, and we are built up to give this challenge against Paisley our best shot,” said spokeswoman Muriel Old. “My first hope is that we settle quickly to the East Kilbride carpet.”

Meanwhile, play in the Scottish Cup continues on Saturday with the draw for the first round (proper) action sending East Lothian to the Inveralmond Stadium, Livingston where Headwell (Dunfermline) provide the opposition.

Sheena Currie has returned to manage an East Lothian team that may have disappointed in their league campaign, but in finishing second to Bainfield in 1C did a whole lot better that Headwell, who failed to win a match in Division 1B.

The EL line up reads as follows:

Rink 1: G McIntosh, A Irvine, M Thomson, J Fairnie.

Rink 2: A Barclay, M Devine, M Hamilton, E Brown.

Rink 3: E Macintosh, M Murray, I Gray, N McNeil.

Rink 4: J McFarlane, J Russell, C Ward, Y Veitch.