Bowls: David Fisher shines for Colinton in EBL

Have your say

Colinton’s David Fisher shrugged aside recent disappointment in the Hamilton Trophy to advance into the second round of the Edinburgh Bowling League (EBL) singles with a 21-16 victory over Summerside’s David Poole.

Fisher lost out in quarter-finals of the Cities and Counties event while representing Edinburgh & Leith, but he regained his sparkle in Colinton’s colours to win his EBL first-round tie at Coltbridge over the weekend against a difficult opponent.

This season is Colinton’s first in the EBL having transferred from The Water of Leith League and Fisher is their spearhead figure in the Knockout Championships, which are sponsored for the first time by Buyrite Bathrooms.

His match against Poole had been a real ding-dong battle up to the 17th end where Poole added a single to lead 15-13, but Fisher got himself off that hook with a magic count of three and then stirred the waters further with a full house four to 20 before sinking Poole with a single two ends later.

Elsewhere, Postal had high hopes that their recent District finalist Christian Berra would fare well in the EBL championships, but his campaign failed to get off the ground against Graham Flight of Dudley.

Flight made the stronger start to lead 12-10 after 12-ends and then soared to 17 with a run of 2, 2, (1), 1, but Berra showed menace with a 3, 1, 1 fightback to stand 16-17, before he was severely jolted by the loss of a 3 to face imminent defeat at 20-16 down.

Berra once again showed strong resistance with a double to 18, but Flight showed he was the man in command with a single to 21 at the next.

Brunstane’s David Pinkney moved into the second round with a strong performance to beat Colin Tough of Carrick Knowe 21-16 in 23-ends at Dean, while Carrick Knowe hosted the clash between Colin Jones of Queensberry and Rab Weir of Lutton Place that was decided in 19-ends, with Jones dominating at all stages to lead 16-8 then hit 21 with a 1, 1, 1, 2 finish.

Other results: Craigentinny beat Tramways; Corstorphine beat Blackhall; Tanfield beat Braid; Ardmillan beat Trinity; Whitehouse & Grange beat LRF; Willowbrae beat Seafield; Liberton beat Mayfield; Merchiston beat Jessfield; Maitland beat Bainfield; Coltbridge beat Craigmillar Park; Goldenacre beat Wardie.