Bowls: Midlothian’s Scottish title hopes ended

Ronnie Duncan and Colin Walker were part of the Midlothian Gents four with Billy Peacock and Ian Forbes
Ronnie Duncan and Colin Walker were part of the Midlothian Gents four with Billy Peacock and Ian Forbes
Have your say

Midlothian’s two-pronged attack in the final stages of the Scottish Indoor Bowls Championships ended in disappointment with defeat in the Gents Fours and the Ladies Pairs.

The semi-final play at Falkirk did produce an encouraging highlight win for Gaynor Duncan and Stacey McDougall producing an outstanding 22-9 victory over Sharon Leitch and Lorraine Malloy of Balbardie.

The Bathgate duo had the ambition of capturing the title for a third time having etched their names on the coveted silverware in 2006 and 2011 but their 3-2 lead after four ends evaporated as Midlothian scored 2, 1, 3.

Midlothian dropped four singles to 8-6 but answered that danger with a five-end run that powered them into a 17-6 lead then, at 17-9, they clinched their place in the final with a run of 1, 1, 3 to 22.

They faced fellow caps Claire Walker and Margaret Letham of Blantyre who had booked their place with a 20-14 win over Leanne Furye and Caroline Ruxton of Arbroath.

Blantyre dominated the early stages of the final to lead 11-4 after eight ends but a run of 4, 3, 1 moved Midlothian ahead 12-11 then 13-12 after 13 ends.

But Midlothian stayed trapped for five ends during which Blantyre powered ahead 19-13.

With just three ends left to play it was a daunting challenge that faced Midlothian and it proved beyond them in a 20-15 defeat.

Meanwhile, the semi-final stage of the Gents Fours saw the high expectations for the Midlothian rink of Ian Forbes, Ronnie Duncan, Billy Peacock and Colin Walker dashed by an 18-15 defeat from an Aberdeen rink skipped by Kevin Pirie.

Walker and Co opened with an exciting count of 4 on end one but it became evident at 10-11 after 13 ends that there was a match to be won.

And it was Aberdeen that grabbed the initiative with a run of 2, 1, 3, that thrust them firmly into the driving seat at 17-10 and they duly converted into a well-earned victory.

Aberdeen went on to suffer a 20-16 defeat in the final from Mark McGowan, John Paul McParland, Robert Gordon and Robert Grant of Larnarkshire.