Craigentinny top city bowling league after win

Have your say

CRAIGENTINNY climbed from fourth place to top spot in Division 1 of the Edinburgh Bowling League with a 7-2 home win over Maitland last night.

Wins on the rinks skipped by Andrew Caldwell, Kevin McFarlane and Gordon Bold fired up the title challenge of a Craigentinny team who fancied their chances of a 9-0 win against their relegation-zoned opponents. Maitland made their presence felt, though, with Brian Higgins inflicting a 24-11 defeat on the home rink skipped by Andy Jeffrey.

Craigentinny were hailed as the pre-campaign favourites to capture the title for a sixth time and they have hit the front at the halfway stage of the season.

“Our early results haven’t been up to expectations and our overall form has still to reach a higher level but we have moved into the driving seat entering the home straight,” said team captain Grant McLaren.

Defending champions Parkside, inaugural champions Pilrig, and six-times champions Tanfield entered last night’s fixtures as joint leaders but all three dropped costly points. Pilrig edged a 5-4 win over visitors Parkside in a hard-fought battle that saw Gavin Smith’s single at the last end secure the bonus point for the home team while Tanfield were hard-pressed to score a 5-4 home win over Queensberry.

But the biggest shock of the night was served up by foot-of-the-table Mayfield who broke their duck in the campaign with a majestic performance to score a 7-2 away win over Northern.

Gavin Thomson led the Mayfield charge, skipping his rink to a 24-16 win over Gordon Wilson Snr, an eight-shot margin emulated by Scott Kearsley’s 16-8 success over Mike Burns while Paul Manson edged a 15-14 thriller over Jamie Reid.

Gordon Wilson Jnr kept Northern on the map with a 19-6 triumph over Ian Hay.

Craigentinny’s Gordon Bold delivered an 18-15 win over Gordon Clark.

Andrew Caldwell was the star man, skipping Darren Smith, Jamie Frame and Gary Nisbet to a 34-10 win over Jim Robertson.

Kevin McFarlane carded a mighty 5 to lead 17-9 then skipped Daniel Gormley, Grant McLaren and David Brown to a 22-15 win over Alan Trotter.