E&L hand debuts to four players for Cities & Counties

Have your say

Edinburgh & Leith launch their Cities and Counties Championship campaign for The Andrew Hamilton Trophy this weekend and have home advantage with Carrick Knowe the venue for Saturday’s visit of Stirling East.

E&L won the national title in 2013 and were finalists in 2012. A home win is expected with team manager Willie Watson of Parkside confident. He has shaken things up quite a bit and hands debuts to four players: Josh Spalding (Craigentinny), Steven Pilley (Bainfield), Andy McNab (Tanfield) and Brian Pollard of Queensberry.

There is also a welcome return for George Kirk of Blackhall and Colin Hutchison of Goldenacre although Hutchison is unavailable for the opening match.

Colinton’s David Fisher is captain.

Edinburgh and Leith:

Rink 1: Daniel Gormley (Craigentinny), David Fisher (Colinton), John McDermott (Sighthill), Paul Veitch (Parkside).

Rink 2:. Euan Craig (Pilrig), Gavin Smith (Pilrig), Jamie Gracie (Slareford), Robert Marshall (Slateford).

Rink 3: Josh Spalding (Craigentinny), Robert Donaldson (Parkside), Daren Hush (Carrick Knowe), James Hogg (Carrick Knowe).

Rink 4: Andy McNab (Tanfield), Gordon Bold (Craigentinny), Alan Brown (Gorgie Mills), Mal Higgenbotham (Tandfield).

Rink 5: Steven Pilley (Bainfield), George Kirk (Blackhall), Neil Watson (Parkside), Paul O’Donnell (Carrick Knowe).

Rink 6: Alan Trotter (Maitland), Brian Pollard (Queensberry), Andrew Caldwell (Craigentinny), Willie McDonald (Craigentinny).

Reserve: Scott Rogers (Craigentinny), Stuart Campbell (Tanfield).

In the East Section, Midlothian team manager Drew Pearson has Commonwealth Games gold medal star David Peacock back on duty. Pearson also recalls Billy Peacock, Jamie MacNab, Robert Campbell, Andy Buerle, and Colin Bonnar while Darren North of Loanhead WM comes in for his debut against Fife County at Strathmiglo.


Rink 1: Neil Linton (Bonnyrigg), Lindsay Plenderleith (Bonnyrigg), Craig Hodge (Loanhead MW), Colin Walker (Pathhead).

Rink 2: Craig Moore (Shottstown MW), Jamie Mitchell (Deantown), Scott Briggs (Newbattle), David Peacock (Danderhall MW).

Rink 3: Jamie MacNab (Gilmerton Pr), David Lawrence (Wallyford MW), Daniel McDougall (Buccleuch), Ronnie Duncan (Bonnyrigg).

Rink 4: Andrew Wilton (Kirkhill), Scott Ritchie (Buccleuch), John Stevenson (Bonnyrigg) Kevin McDougall (Bonnyrigg).

Rink 5: Tom Moffat (Wallford MW), Robert Campbell (Dalkeith), Colin Bonnar (Newbattle), Colin MacFarlane (Newbattle).

Rink 6: Darren North (Loanhead MW), Andrew Buerle (Loanhead MW), Billy Peacock (Danderhall MW), Ramsay Blair (Loanhead MW).

Reserves: Robert Bruce (Easthouses), Andy Kelly (Buccleuch), Ryan Yuill (Newbattle), Martin Wyllie (Newbattle), Stuart Clark (Pathhead), Andy Scott (Loanhead Pr), Scott Reid (Musselburgh Pr), Mark Yuill (Deantown).