Edinburgh & Leith retain the Matt Purdie Trophy

Edinburgh & Leith celebrate winning the Inter County Matt Purdie Trophy
Edinburgh & Leith celebrate winning the Inter County Matt Purdie Trophy
Have your say

The Seniors Brigade of Edinburgh & Leith is celebrating the successful defence of the Inter County Matt Purdie Trophy having marched to a commanding 25 shot victory (87-62) over West Fife in the final played 
at Carron & Carronshore in Stirling.

The five-rink team dominated the opposition in four of the head to head confrontations with winning performances served up on the rinks skipped by Adam Brock, Frank O’Reilly, BJ Smith, and team captain Frank Welsh. The fifth rink, skipped by Adam Melrose, losy by three shots in a defeat that didn’t compromise or threaten the overall result.

Brock was the major contributor skipping 1996 Tait Trophy Champion Rab Gardner at lead, Bernie Callaghan at second and David Moran at third, to a 19-7 win over Ron Downie having asserted a 15-2 authority after 10 ends.

O’Reilly kicked on from 9-8 down to skip Jim Connor, Gordon Taylor and Martin Quinn to a 21-13 win over Alan 
Bernard while the rink of Keith Anderson, Chris Crawford, Stuart Wilson and BJ Smith produced a storming finish from 4-10 to beat Jim Crawford, 20-13. Welsh skipped Bill Herd, Alan McKenzie and Ian Combe into a 15-5 lead but the advantage was dramatically clawed back and victory was edged 16-15 win over Duncan Lawson.

Melrose and his front-three of Norrie Chalmers, Ian Brown and Ian Pryde were tied 11-11 but were defeated 14-11 by Tom Hutchison.

• East Calder play host on Sunday (10am) to the final day’s play in the WLBA £1200 WL Council Super Fours supported by Derek Logie of Small Business Accountancy Scotland – with 12 rinks hunting the £600 title.

• Cockenzie & Port Seton finished with an 8-0 away win over Castlepark to snatch the Division 1 title of the East Coast Carpets East Lothian Leagues by a single point over Haddington.

Haddington, having to settle for a 6-2 away win over Dunbar, were agonisingly denied an 8-0 result and the title honours by a brilliant last bowl trail conversion by home skip James Shields.