Hillside win championship following BJ Smith’s ‘fluke’

Have your say

Hillside have won the inaugural playing of The Edinburgh & Leith Mixed Rink Championship for The John Marshall Trophy with their Four of Violet Winton, Cathy Ward, BJ Smith and Colin Bell beating Bainfield in the final at Colinton.

The final needed a thrilling extra-end climax for Hillside to see off a determined challenge from Hazel Crombie, Heather Stoddart, Adam Brock and Brian Stoddart.

Stoddart faced intense pressure at 15-14 down but met the challenge with an inch-perfect draw that took the final into an extra-end tie-break for the title.

Bainfield built up the more solid head to hold three shots that encouraged Smith to attempt an attacking stroke with his second bowl. “I have to confess I was well off target but fluked one of our stray bowls on to the top of the jack and it remained there for us to be declared champions,” he said.

London Road Foundry finished runners-up to Hillside in last year’s inaugural playing of the Edinburgh Bowling Leagues Ladies League but captured the 2014 title sponsored by Gifted of Raeburn Place.

LRF suffered a 3-2 defeat by Hillside in their final match but had enough points in the bag to finish two clear of Goldenacre who closed the gap with their 5-0 win over Brunstane.

In terms of match wins, LRF won eight of their 11 to the nine of Goldenacre; but the eventual champions tipped the scales with six 5-0 triumphs, these coming over Brunstane, Corstorphine, West End, Liberton, Parkside and Summerside.