Hutchison boosts Bainfield for trip to Coatbridge

Have your say

Bainfield’s mettle for meeting the formidable challenge of winning on an away carpet will be put to the test tomorrow, with the elite bowlers from the Hutchison Crossway Stadium in with a chance of capturing two vital indoor bowls Premier league points at Coatbridge.

The morale of the 16-strong Bainfield team is boosted by the return to action of international cap Colin Hutchison, but expectations that key man Robert Marshall would be parading his skills for them have failed to materialise.

Daniel Gormley is joined in tomorrow’s team by Josh Spalding, Stephen Pringle, Mark McIntosh and John McDermott to bring an effervescent youthful presence in a balanced line-up.


Rink 1: Graeme McIntosh, Brian Stoddart, Colin Hutchison, Barry Hill.

Rink 2: Chris Downie, Alan Brown, John McDermott, Gavin Smith.

Rink 3: Josh Spalding, Davy McCourt, Kevin Tennant, James Hogg.

Rink 4: Stephen Pringle, Mark McIntosh, Daniel Gormley, Craig Paterson.

West Lothian face an interesting visit to newly-promoted Abbeyview, where the three-in-a-row titleholders field a team of stars that on reputation looks impressive enough to bag the points.

West Lothian:

Rink 1: Paul Lynas, Raymond Logan, Jamie Gracie, Mark Allison.

Rink 2: Brian Cooper, Des Hagart, Stuart Johnston, Neil Speirs.

Rink 3: Craig Moss, George Sneddon, Paul O’Donnell, Calum Logan.

Rink 4: Richard Mark, Ian Drysdale, James Speirs, Thomas Mann.

East Lothian have lost both of their opening games in the ‘B’ section of the Premier League and the under-pressure Garden County team could find themselves hard pressed to get a result when they go to Lanarkshire.

The return of former Edinburgh IBC stars Billy Mellors and Andy Jeffrey is a welcome boost to EL, but the downside is that Alex Marshall MBE, Derek Oliver and Stewart Thomson are all absentees.

East Lothian:

Rink 1: Les Middler, Gary Darling, Jamie Higgins, Scott Kennedy.

Rink 2: Kieran Simants, Andy Burt, Dougie Berwick, Graham Robertson.

Rink 3: Ewan Fallen, Matt Osbourne, Andy Jeffrey, Billy Mellors,

Rink 4: Calvert Allison, Scott Logan, Mark Johnston, Willie Wood MBE.

Midlothian were hugely disappointed to have lost at Bainfield and team manager Frank Gray is asking his team to bounce back tomorrow when they entertain Blantyre at Dalkeith. The return of Lindsay Plenderleith and Colin Walker is an inspiring plus.

Team captain David Peacock has opted to move from skip to play third to Walker and the front-end combination of Plenderleith and Craig Hodge makes it a particularly strong Midlothian rink.

Gray also brings in Colin Bonner for his seasonal debut and the East Lothian outdoor star lines up at third to Billy Peacock, with Ryan Yuill and Scott Matthews forming the front-end.

Ronnie Duncan skips Neil Watson, Andy Kelly and Kevin McDougall, while Ian Forbes, Martin Wyllie and Davy Munro are the front-three for Colin McFarlane.

Andrew Caldwell and Danny McDougall are unavailable, while Colin Cook is switched to the reserve bench.