Joy of six for Slateford as they claim Top Ten title

Slateford show off the Edinburgh Top Ten trophy
Slateford show off the Edinburgh Top Ten trophy
Have your say

Slateford secured a record-extending sixth Edinburgh Top Ten title triumph by beating Colinton 6-2 in the final.

In the Singles, the hosts’ Robert Marshall clashed with David Fisher. Marshall, a five-times Tait Trophy champion and 19-times winner of the Slateford championship, was favourite to see off this season’s E&L team captain and delivered the goods in a 24-end battle.

Fisher was always fighting against the collar, with Marshall holding leads of 4-0, 14-7 and 16-10 but the Colinton challenger did represent a menace at 12-16. However, Marshall came through for a 21-15 victory.

Marshall’s contribution of two points to the Slateford cause was timely as it put them 4-2 ahead as his game was third to finish following a home win in the Fours and a success for Colinton in the Pairs.

Andrew Ramsay made a blitz start in the Fours, with the former Edinburgh Open champion skipping Louis Beaton, Grant McAdam and Graham McAdam into a 14-2 lead then on to a 21-7 win over Garry MacDonald (skip).

Colinton gave the final an edge with Brian Davies and Cammy Cairns picking up from 10-9 down to score an 18-14 win over David Ross and Jamie Gracie in the Pairs.

The Triples points always looked to be in the bag for Slateford with Gordon Ramsay skipping Dougie Martin and Scott Brunton into a 9-2 lead then on to an 18-6 win over Halley Cockburn, Greg Smith and Ross Byres.

Slateford will now represent the Capital in the Scottish Inter County Top Ten Championship next June – an event they won in both 1996 and 1997. Coincidentally, the final day’s play of that event will be hosted by Colinton.