Kirkliston win the Rosebery Cup for 25th time

The Kirkliston team celebrate their victory
The Kirkliston team celebrate their victory
Have your say

Kirkliston captured West Lothian Bowling Association’s historic Rosebery Cup for a 25th time after a hard-fought 77-71 victory over Linlithgow at Harrysmuir BC in Livingston.

Wins for the KBC rinks skipped by Raymond Logan and Neil Speirs were crucial in a victory that went right down to the wire as Linlithgow inflicted serious wounds on Calum Logan and Grant Logan.

Linlithgow had set a strong early pace that looked likely to deliver them an eighth title and, after 17 ends, were 61-57 ahead.

But their one-time 12-shot lead was under constant pressure and was gradually cut as Calum Logan produced some superb last-bowl deliveries. Meanwhile, Logan’s father Ray was storming over the line with a whirlwind run of 2, 5, 2, 2, 2.

The phase scoring saw Linlithgow ejoying a 28-21 and 28-23 capture of the first two phases. However, it was Kirkliston’s spectacular 33-15 command of the third that won the day.

Ray Logan skipped Davy Brown, Darren Pearce and Derrick Meikle from 3-7 to a 25-14 win over Andrew Cruickshanks, Scott Murphy, Scott Mushet and Gary Orr.

Speirs pushed on from 5-4 to skip Nathan McKendrick, Scott Logan and Mark Allison to a 21-11 win over Derek Cochrane, Tam Hamilton, David Alexander and Gary Smith.

Grant Logan and his rink of Andy Suddon, Gordon Logan and Steven Forrest carded a six at the second but went on to suffer a 23-17 defeat at the hands of Willie McLeod, Derek Logie, Ewan Shearer and Graeme Byrne.

Calum Logan and his front three of Andi Gray, Jordan Pearce and John Aitken were 20-4 down and rode many more punches to restrict their defeat to 23-14 at the hands of Andrew Grimshaw, Martin Stein, Mark Graham and Steven Fleming,