Local bowlers aim for Scottish Singles title

Have your say

Two bright local talents go head-to-head in the opening playdown action of the Ladies’ indoor bowls Scottish Singles Championship today with Mandy O’Donnell of Bainfield and Dee Hoggan of East Lothian clashing in the prelim round at Arbroath.

O’Donnell is the reigning Bainfield champion with 27 junior caps and three senior caps. Hoggan is a rising star at the now to be known Alex Marshall Arena at East Lothian IBC and has nine junior caps.

Lorraine Malloy represents Balbardie and has won two national outdoor singles titles.

The recent Commonwealth Games internationalist has 24 indoor full caps and faces Alison Strachan of Cowal in the prelim round while Gaynor Duncan represents Midlothian IBC against June Dowll of Stirling.

A touch of romance comes with the West Lothian IBC challenger as 80-year-old Jean Brown seeks adventure for the first time at this level of national competition having been promoted as runner up to the unavailable Claire Watson.

Brown has a bye into the first round proper where she meets Ann Gilmour of Galleon. Leslie Doig of East Fife defends the title.

Meanwhile, the ladies team of Bainfield are celebrating two wins out of two in Division 1C of the national leagues having followed up their opening win over East Lothian with a 92-76 triumph over West Lothian at The Hutchison Crossway Stadium.

Wins for the rinks skipped by Mandy O’Donnell, Marion Dickson and Anna Anderson delivered the result with the major contribution being a 35-11 success for Heather Stoddart, Chloe Thomson, Rita Reid and O’Donnell over Lisa Barrett.

Other 1C results: East Lothian 124, Teviotdale 53; Tweedbank 82 Balbardie 79.

The Midlothian v East Lothian derby clash in the East B Seniors League at Dalkeith saw ‘the garden county’ crush the home side, 73-72, with wins for the rinks skipped by Alistair Russell, Peter Laidlaw, and Tom Young.

Midlothian’s sole success was an impressive 24-8 win for Lindsay Plenderleith over Willie Wood MBE.

The other East B results were: Bainfield 125, Teviotdale 29, Tweedbank 58.5 West Lothian 64.