Mark Bonnar steals show as Ewan Shearer makes surprise exit

Share this article
Have your say

Ewan Shearer the No.6 seed was the high-profile casualty in last night’s fourth round of the Scotmid-sponsored 16th West Lothian Masters, the Scotland cap from Bo’ness pipped in a 21-20 thriller by Mark Bonnar of Glenmavis.

But five seeds remain going into tonight’s section finals at Kirkliston and Bellsburn with Grant Logan (1) of Kirkliston, Cameron Greer (2) of Bathgate, Gary Smith (3) of Linlithgow, Connor McKendrick (13) of Middleton Hall, and Steven Fleming (15) of Linlithgow still in the hunt for the £1000 title and signature Green Jacket.

Greer lived dangerously against his 51-year-old Bathgate colleague Brian Saunders having found himself chasing the game at 5-13, 8-15 and 14-19 before hauling himself into contention with counts of 2, and 3 to peel at 19.

Saunders – a Masters finalist in 2000 – brought the 25-year old seed under intense pressure with a single to 20 but Greer answered the question with a double on end 24 to edge a 21-20 thriller.

Shearer – the 2001 Master and record four times Champion of Champions – was deadlocked at 11-11, 17-17 against Bonnar, and 18-18 before the seed added successive singles to 20, but Bonnar stole the show as he conjured up a magic 2, 1 finish to capture a major scalp in 27 ends.

Three times champion of champions Ronnie Erskine of Winchburgh stormed to a 21-8 victory with a whirlwind finish of 2, 1, 2, 3, 1 against Colin Russell of Deans, but it was the end of the Masters road for the 1986 Commonwealth Games gold medal star, Armadale’s Grant Knox, who made a 21-8 exit to Richard Mark of Uphall Station – who led 15-8 and finished 3, 1, 1, 1.

It was also a night of mixed fortune for two exciting 14-year old talents. Ewan Snedden of Bellsburn scored a 21-15 win over Craig Sinclair of Glenmavis, but Jamie Deacon of Harrymuir was sidelined by a 21-10 defeat in 17 ends by Hamilton Trophy player David Lamb of Uphall Station.

Rab Hilson of Blackburn is through to the last 16 after snatching a 21-20 win over James Speirs of Newbridge after trailing 20-17.

Another 21-20 drama involved 20-year old No.13 seed Connor McKendrick who led A Robertson of Blackburn 20-18 but before serving up a brilliant last bowl draw to clinch the winner on end 22.

Other results: Grant Logan 21 Stephen Pettigrew (Buchan Park) 4; B Craig (Dean) 21 D Smith (Philipstoun Com) 7; K Broadley (Kirk) 21 G Baldry (Newbridge) 19; G Smith (Linlithgow) 21 T Whitfield (Glenmavis) 9; J Edwards (Broxburn) 21 D Wilson Snr (Brox) 19; S Fleming (Lin) 21 M Campbell (Ratho 15).