Neil Speirs back to boost West Lothian’s Scottish Cup hopes

Neil Speirs returns for West Lothian against Alloa
Neil Speirs returns for West Lothian against Alloa
Have your say

Commonwealth Games 2014 gold-medal winner Neil Speirs returns from a three-month lay-off to take his place in the West Lothian IBC line-up that faces Alloa at Dunfermline venue Abbeyview in tomorrow’s second-round action of the indoor bowls Scottish Cup.

Speirs, 38, who has recovered from a leg injury, starts in the position of third rather than his natural place at skip.

Grant Knox, a gold-medal winner at the 1986 Games, has re-emerged from the shadows this season and takes his place in the WL team for a match which pits the Clackmannanshire outfit – recently relegated from the Premier League – against their promoted opponents.

West Lothian:

Rink 1: Scott Logan, Ian Drysdale, Neil Speirs, Thomas Mann.

Rink 2: Richard Mark, Raymond Logan, Craig Moss, Mark Allison.

Rink 3: Bryan Cooper, Grant Knox, Stuart Johnston, James Speirs.

Rink 4: Cameron Greer, Blair Mackie, Des Hagart, Calum Logan.

Midlothian IBC last etched their name on the cup back in 2004 but have a team strong enough to bridge that gap. However, their second-round test is a tough one in the shape of fellow top-flight club Lanarkshire. However, the presence of world stage stars Ronnie Duncan, Colin Walker, David Peacock and Graeme Archer gives a powerful look to the Midlothian team.


Rink 1: Andrew Caldwell, John Stevenson, Lindsay Plenderleith, Colin Walker.

Rink 2: Ian Forbes, Ian Fleming, Scott Briggs, David Peacock.

Rink 3: Jamie Macnab, Jim Cullen, AJ Knight, Billy Peacock.

Rink 4: Scott Runciman, Craig Hodge, Ronnie Duncan, Graeme Archer.

Bainfield would love to 
emulate their title triumph of 2008 and their prospects of making it into the quarter-
finals look reasonably good.

Elgin provide the opposition for the Edinburgh outfit at 
Arbroath and the Division 1 team, who finished second to West Lothian in their league, will be no pushovers.

Bainfield have yet to confirm their line-up.