Newbridge and Linlithgow battle for Rosebery Cup

Have your say

It is a special occasion when a West Lothian club wins the coveted Rosebery Cup as it was the donation of the Silver Trophy by the then Lord Rosebery that led to the creation of The Linlithgowshire Bowling Association in 1882. (The Association name changed to West Lothian in 1999).

Tomorrow’s final of the 2015 renewal, down for decision at Newbridge BC (2pm), brings the opportunity of an extra special memory for the winners between combatants Newbridge and Linlithgow.

Perhaps the stronger driver is in the hands of Linlithgow (1865) as the club is celebrating its 150th anniversary and to ice the cake with a Rosebery Cup triumph would be a dream outcome.

The Linlithgow history in The Rosebery isn’t a particular strong one in numerical terms having won it on six occasions in comparison with Kirkliston’s 23 and Whitburn’s record of 27.

But The Black Bitches timed it right in 1890 with the first success coinciding with the 25th anniversary and therefore raising present-day hopes that the Rosebery will again become a special landmark in the history of the club.

Football Great Colin Stein brings his inspiring brand of pride, passion and skills to the heartbeat of a well balanced team that includes County stars Steven Fleming, Gary Orr and England/Scotland legend Gary Smith.

Newbridge have home green advantage because by tradition the final is hosted by the serving president of The West Lothian Bowling Association, in this case Drew Paterson, and this brings the opportunity to make his year in office extra memorable.

Paterson is also a team member and although playing and winning is not a unique situation it is one that is greatly desired, alongside winning the Hamilton Trophy, in a persons presidential year.

Newbridge achieved their only Rosebery Cup triumph back in 1977 but the present day outfit is very strongly formed with eight of their team in the current Hamilton Trophy squad – and they launched their campaign with an impressive win over holders Kirkliston.

The draw:

Newbridge: Rink 1: Drew Paterson, Jim McKay, James Speirs Jnr, and Greg Baldry; Rink 2. Ryan Duffy, Ian Robertson, Jamie Aitken, and Thomas Mann; Rink 3. Robert Forrest, Mark Campbell, Andrew Semple, and Alec Allan; Rink 4. Jim Aitken, Robert Rayner, Paul Sweeney, and Blair Mackie.

Linlithgow: Rink 1: Andrew Grimshaw Jnr, Colin Stein, Mark Graham, and Steven Fleming; Rink 2. Mark Mulholland, Gary Porteous, Scott Murphy, and Graeme Byrne; Rink 3. Andrew Cruickshanks, Fraser Simpson, Ian McMahon, and Gary Orr; Rink 4. Derek Cochrane, David Hamilton, David Alexander, and Gary Smith.