Parkside aim to maintain lead at the top of EBL

Have your say

Parkside face a challenging away trip to Hillside in Division 1 of the Alpha Trophies-sponsored Edinburgh Bowling League tonight and there is extra pressure on the leaders as chief rivals Craigentinny are expected to do well at relegation-zoned Summerside.

The Parkside form hasn’t been exactly super charged in recent weeks suggesting that their four-and-a-half point lead is vulnerable to a late thrust from Craigentinny, particularly if the two-in-a-row defending champions start to fire on all cylinders.

Parkside, twice champions in the past, don’t do panic mode, though, and a tinkering of tonight’s line-up is reflected in leads Steven Rennie and Craig Bryce doing a reverse switch of rinks.


Rink 1: Alex Hurry, Dave Sherriffs, Danny Jackson, Robert Donaldson.

Rink 2: Graeme Fraser, Ewan Diven, Brian Salvona, Paul Veitch.

Rink 3: Steven Rennie, Davie Moran, Andy Hargan, Neil Watson.

Rink 4: Craig Bryce, Willie Watson, Kevin Boyd, Derek Smith.

There will be extra needle in the visit of third-placed Queensberry to fourth-placed Northern as the home side will be thirsting to avenge the drubbing they received in the semi-final of the Edinburgh Cup. Graeme Prentice and ace skip Ian Miller are absentees for Northern resulting in Ian MacDonald and Walter Murray being drafted in to a line-up that sees Andy Reid promoted to skip.


Rink 1: Stevie Raeburn, Walter Murray, George Prentice, Andy Reid.

Rink 2: Grant Young, Ian MacDonald, Darren Prentice, Jamie Reid.

Rink 3: Garry Harrison, Gordon Wilson Snr, Favie Scott, Gordon Wilson Jnr.

Rink 4: Richard Newall, Alan Mitchell, Larry Sorrell, Jim Bathgate.

Queensberry sit four points adrift of Craigentinny but, with the finishing line fast approaching, need a good result to keep them in the title race.


Rink 1: Colin Jones, Brian Larkin, Jordan Davidson, Frank O’Reilly.

Rink 2: Gordon Preston, Jimmy McDougall, Paul Kirkland, Brian Pollard.

Rink 3: Tam Ebbs, Paul Manson, Mick Imrie Jnr, John Kidd.

Rink 4: Colin McKenzie, Mick Imrie Snr, Alan Watson, Scott Walker.

The other game sees Leith host Maitland.