Postal rivals aiming to deliver club championship success

Have your say

Postal host their club championship tomorrow night (6.30pm) with the winner set to take his place in the Tait Trophy.

Postal have tasted success three times in the Tait – Edinburgh & Leith’s champion of champions event – with victories for J Thomson (1966), AW McInnes (1978) and Derek McLean (1986).

Looking to emulate those men in 2016 will be either Elliot Young or Stuart Turnbull. Young captured the Postal crown in 2009 and his latest opportunity to relive that achievement was carved out by a thrilling 21-20 victory in Tuesday’s semi-finals.

Defeat looked likely when Young faced an uphill battle at 16-9 down to two-times champion Neal Rooney but Young responded to the challenge with a powerful rally of 3, 1, (1), 1, 3, 2 to cross 19-17.

Rooney produced a tenacious 1, 2 reply to regain the lead at 20-19 but it was Young who hit the magic figure of 21 with a thrilling 1, 1 finish. Turnbull is bidding to have his name etched on the club championship board for the first time and carved out that opportunity in exciting style as it took grandstand finish to sweep him to a 21-19 victory over his semi-final opponent Steven McIntosh.

McIntosh played impressively to open up a 15-9 lead but allowed Turnbull to turn the tables with a fightback of 1, 1, 2, 3 that crossed him into a 16-15 lead. It was then a fierce battle to peels at 19-19 with the deadlock broken by a magic double to 21 from Turnbull.

• THE third-round action in the Edinburgh Top Ten Championship saw holders Slateford make a 5-3 exit away to Craigentinny.

Craigentinny will face fellow EBL Division 1 club Northern at Postal in the semi-finals. Northern won on shot margin at Dean after a 4-4 share of the points. Carrick Knowe crushed Tanfield 8-0 to set up a semi-final clash at Goldenacre against Division 3 outfit Summerside, who beat Division 1 club Hillside on shot margin following a 4-4 scoreline.