Stuart McFarlane is Craigentinny hero in Edinburgh Cup win

Specsavers Edinburgh Cup Winners - Craigentinny
Specsavers Edinburgh Cup Winners - Craigentinny
Have your say

Stuart McFarlane was hailed the bowling hero as Craigentinny extended their record number of title triumphs in the Specsavers Edinburgh Cup from four to five with a shot margin victory over Parkside in a dramatic final that went right down to the wire at Hillside.

Parkside put up a great fight in their bid to win the coveted trophy for a third time and did manage a 6-6 share of the points but Craigentinny etched their name on the silverware with a shot-margin superiority of 100 to 93.

The wins achieved by the rinks skipped by Kevin McFarlane, Willie McDonald and Andrew Caldwell just gave Craigentinny the edge over those chalked up by successful Parkside skips David Craig Jnr, Brian Salvona and Derek Smith.

Parkside made a great start the first two rinks to finish achieving wins over Tony McLaren and Gordon Bold.

Craig Jnr whipped up a storming finish of 1, 2, 2, 4, 1 to skip Gary Hall, David Craig Snr and Bobby Hughes to a 24-10 win over Ramsay Stewart, Liam Gordon, Jimmy Marshall and McLaren.

Salvona then produced a 2, 2, finish to skip Tam Hogg, Alex Rennie and Ian Fleming to a thrilling 18-17 win over Daniel Gormley, Scott Duncan, Scott Rogers and Gordon Bold.

Craigentinny were far from being a busted flush however and wins for ace skips McFarlane and McDonald kept them bang in the picture.

McFarlane made space from 9-9 to 16-9 with a run of 1, 5, 1 then skipped Josh Spalding, Bill Leslie and John Shields to a 21-10 win over Graham Fraser, Tam Salvona, Steven Rennie and Neil Watson.

McDonald added 3, 2, 1 to lead 18-10 then skipped Stuart Betts, Grant McLaren and David Brown to a 24-13 win over Jack Logan, Lawrence Healey, Martin Quinn and Rab Gardner.

Parkside then went 6-4 up on points with Smith skipping Andy Davie, Tam Flynn and Danny Jackson to a 16-14 win with a spectacular 2, 1, 5, 1, finish against Craig McCall, Ian Duncan, Kevin Hunter and Andy Jeffrey.

The sixth and final rink to finish featured Darren Smith, Stuart McFarlane, George Johnstone and skip Andrew Caldwell against Craig Bryce, Martin Hamilton, Gareth Edwards and Willie Watson.

Caldwell’s skip lead 13-12 going into the last end but Johnstone burnt the head to set up McFarlane who produced a corker of a front-jack-toucher.

McFarlane was No. 2 in Caldwell’s rink and he needed all of his experience to pull off the score. A peel would have sufficed for Parkside but McFarlane’s gem that made it onto the card clinched a 14-12 win for Caldwell – and the Cup for Craigentinny.