Summerside make their bow in Division 1 at Pilrig

Have your say

After rising from Division 3 through the ranks of the Alpha Trophies-sponsored Edinburgh Bowling League, Summerside make their Division 1 debut away to Pilrig tonight.

The top-flight new boys will be fortified by experienced new faces to the club as they begin the latest chapter in their adventure against the inaugural 1998 champions. “It is a tremendous boost that top-level players like Andy Sneddon and Davy Snodgrass have joined us from Tanfield, and we welcome the talented Kyle Newall from Hillside,” said Summerside spokesman Martin Watt.

“We already have experienced top-flight players like Davy Poole, Keith Taylor and Peter Millar within our ranks and it is great news that our former player Mark Robertson has returned to the fold.”

Meanwhile, Tanfield look to be in a state of transition as they go in search of their first title since 2006.

The surprise exodus of their 2010 title-winning Scottish Triples skip Graeme McIntosh and his son Jamie – an emerging talent – to Maitland on top of losing the aforementioned Sneddon and Snodgrass to Summerside coul have a detrimental effect on their bid to win a record-breaking seventh title. Tanfield open at home to Northern and have named the following team:

Rink 1: Neil Hunter, Alan Ross, Liam McKay, Ian Duffus.

Rink 2: Paul White, Graeme Swan, Alex Thompson, Bob White.

Rink 3: Charlie McLaren, Kenny Lackie, Andy McNab, Derek McLean.

Rink 4: George Tuff, Willie Paul, Scott Wood, Stuart Campbell.

Northern are an able outfit with headline names like Stan Christie, Davy Scott, and Jamie Reid and their full team reads:

Rink 1: Garry Harrison, Darren Prentice, Davy Scott, Gordon Wilson Jnr.

Rink 2: Graham Prentice, Hughie Hilson, Stan Christie, Jamie Reid.

Rink 3: Gary Largue, Walter Murray, Andy Reid, Ian Miller.

Rink 4: Jim Prentice, Alan Mitchell, George Prentice, Gordon Wilson Snr.

Tonight’s other Division 1 fixtures are Parkside v Hillside and Queensberry v Craigentinny.