Tanfield and Sighthill clash in Edinburgh Top Ten final

Have your say

Tanfield go head-to-head with Sighthill today in the final of the Edinburgh Top Ten at Postal (2pm).

Spearhead figures Liam McKay of Tanfield and Sighthill’s John McDermott – both past winners of the Edinburgh & Leith Under-25 Singles – clash in the top tie. The duo enjoy Hamilton Trophy status with E&L and McKay enters the match as the new Tait Trophy champion while McDermott is a vastly-experienced campaigner with a national title – the Mixed Pairs – on his CV.

The other head-to-heads are (Tanfield first):

Pairs: Alex Thompson and Stuart Campbell v Adam Melrose and Graeme Eddington; Triples: Graeme Swan, Charlie McLaren and Robert White v Aaron Donald, Scott Lyell and Stuart Isbister.

Fours: Stuart McKean, Calum Munro, David Snodgrass and Andy McNab v Ross Moodie, David Connelly, Ross Noble and Gary Connelly.

• Defending champion Bob Mackay of Armadale lost 21-16 to Kirkliston challenger Bill Close in the first-round proper of the Weslo Seniors Open in West Lothian. Stuart Smith of Ratho, the 2015 champion, progressed at the 21-19 expense of Watson Memorial’s Bill Whalley.

Three 21-20 thrillers saw Jim Horsburgh (Watson Memorial) beat Graeme Struthers (Blackburn), Brian Walker (Queensferry) edge out Allan Lynch (West Calder), and Jackie Ramsay (Harthill) nip Thomas McLean (Blackburn). Colin Stein of Linlithgow launched his bid for the title in convincing fashion with the former Rangers great powering to a 21-8 win over Clark Steel of Watson Memorial.

Robert Saunders of Whitburn – the recent District champion – cleared a difficult hurdle with his impressive 21-12 win over George Marshall of Pumpherston.