West End to begin defence of EBL title at home

Have your say

The Edinburgh Top Ten Association have made the draw for their 2015 outdoor bowls championship, and from a field of 43 clubs defending champions West End came out of that with a home match against Ardmillan.

West End were shock but romantic first time Edinburgh champions in the club’s 150th year and will be pleased that their bye into the first round proper gives them a chance of making it into the second.

There are 11 preliminary matches and several of them are real corkers especially the blood-stirring clash featuring EBL Division 1 champions Craigentinny at home to their great traditional rivals Tanfield.

Tanfield have fallen on hard times in recent seasons and this year will be operating in Division 2 of the EBL having been relegated from the top echelon for the first time in the history of the league, so they will relish having a go at the top dogs in a cup tie.

The excitement of Carrick Knowe’s switch of allegiance from the Water of Leith to the EBL is vastly diminished by the rules forcing the WoL 1st Sixteen Champions to start life in Division 5 but that only adds extra spice to their Top Ten cup draw against Parkside.

Parkside are giants of the EBL Division – runners up the past two years and champions the one before – so present a major challenge to a Carrick Knowe team that has won the Edinburgh Top Ten on three occasions.

Gorgie Mills are Top Ten experts having dominated the Capital scene on six occasions and reigned as national champions once and being drawn first out of the hat on this occasion are at home to Sighthill in an all WoL clash.

Pilrig will no doubt be challenged by an away draw but the four times Edinburgh champions are expected to hold most of the aces against Coltbridge whose best highlights are in the distant past.

•The full draw:

Preliminary Round: Gorgie Mills v Sighthill; Hillside v Willowbrae; Craigentinny v Tanfield; Coltbridge v Pilrig; Corstorphine v Whitehouse & Grange; Juniper Green v Dean; Fountain v Summerside; Goldenacre v Blackhall; Carrick Knowe v Parkside; Colinton v Queensberry; Brunstane v Beechwood.

First Round: Tbc v Balerno; Postal v Maitland; West End v Ardmillan; Merchiston v Dudley; Northern v Bainfield; Seafiled v London Road Foundry; Wardie v Liberton; Slateford v Leith; Portobello v Mayfield; Niddrie v Lutton Place; Tramways v Currie.