West Lothian Masters: John Ellis stuns Gary Smith

Fourth seed Gary Smith, pictured, lost out to John Ellis
Fourth seed Gary Smith, pictured, lost out to John Ellis
Have your say

LINLITHGOW’S Gary Smith was the latest seed to exit the Scotmid-sponsored West Lothian Masters as the 56-year-old crashed out in 24 ends to John Ellis of Armadale at Whitburn.

No.4 seed Smith – winner in 2010 and finalist in 2011 and 2014 – made an encouraging start to lead 10-2, 15-7 and 18-11 but failed to land the killer punch as Ellis stormed to 21 with a whirlwind finishing run of 2, 3, 1, 1, 3.

Kirkliston’s Raymond Logan, the No.14 seed, made a 21-18 exit to 2008 winner Ryan Miller of Buchan Park. Miller had Logan at his 13-7 mercy but had a fight on his hands at 19-18 before reaching round four with a 1, 2, finish to win in 27 ends.

Number-three seed Andy Dunnett of Queensferry – a two-times champion – faced recently-crowned Meikle Trophy winner Andrew Semple of Newbridge at Linlithgow and kicked on from 12-10 to win 21-14. Frazer Muirhead of Uphall Station crossed from 12-13 to beat Charlie Williams of Whitburn 21-15.

16th seed Jordan Pearce, 18, of Kirkliston was left nursing a 21-20 defeat at Deans from Graeme Byrne of Linlithgow.

Kirkliston’s No.2 seed Grant Logan and No.5 seed John Aitken both marched on with Logan converting an 18-2 lead into a 21-7 win over Ian Russell of Blackburn, and Aitken recovering from 14-17 to beat teenager Gordon Snedden of Bellsburn 21-19.

Other seeds to progress: (7) Cameron Greer 21 G Simpson (Middleton Hall) 13; (8) Alec Allan 21, B Valentine (Armadale) 14; (9) Walter McDougall 21, A Greer (Pumpherston) 9; (12) Glen King 21, M Bonar (Glenmavis) 13.

The section finals on Friday night will be held at Kirkliston and Broxburn.