Heriot's skipper Keith Morton still '˜hooked' on Scottish Cup

Heriot's skipper Keith Morton cannot wait to play in his third Citylets Scottish Cup final on Sunday when he will lead Heriot's against Mazars Grange in Paisley, admitting he is 'hooked' on the competition.

By The Newsroom
Saturday, 18th August 2018, 7:30 am
Keith Morton is seeking his second Scottish Cup success with Heriot's
Keith Morton is seeking his second Scottish Cup success with Heriot's

The clash at Ferguslie’s Meikleriggs ground promises to be a cracker between the two Capital rivals, who have both had good summers.

And Morton, the 28-year-old spinner, said: “Ever since I was young I have been hooked on the Scottish Cup and always given it a lot of importance.

“I was lucky enough to play in a final with my dad [Willie, the former Scotland player] for Penicuik when I was a teenager in 2008 and, although we lost that one, it made me determined to get back to the showpiece game again.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

“I then won the event with Heriot’s in 2012 and it will be a special moment for me leading out the team on Sunday.”

Stuart Davidson, now 46 and out of first-team retirement to spearhead the Grange bowling attack this summer, has played his part in a number of Cup triumphs in the past, including in 1998 when the Stockbridge men won the double.

“The blend of experience and youth we have in the team works really well and everyone is enjoying their cricket,” he explained.

“That is down to the likes of captain Preston Mommsen, [player/coach] John Blain and Neil McCallum who create a fun environment and a spirit which means everyone wants to learn and play for each other.”

Citylets Scottish Cup final squads

Heriot’s (from): Keith Morton (c), Hayes van der Berg, Peter Ross, Loedolff Potgeiter, Elnatan Meiri, Michael Shean, Chris Ashforth, James Hearn, Simon Whait, Ryan Brown, Elliot Ruthven, Alex Knapman, Sean Weeraratna.

Mazars Grange (from): Preston Mommsen (c), John Blain, Andrew Brock, Dylan Budge, Jamie Cairns, Harris Carnegie, Stuart Davidson, Nick Farrar, Ryan Flannigan, Tom Foulds, Gordon Goudie, Tom Mackintosh, Neil McCallum, Charlie Peet.