Skipper so proud as Watsonians beat Carlton

Ewan Chalmers hit 52 not out for Watsonians
Ewan Chalmers hit 52 not out for Watsonians
Have your say

Watsonians captain Ewan Chalmers was delighted that everyone in his team played their part to help them defeat Carlton in the CSL Eastern Premiership.

The Myreside men headed to Grange Loan with just one league win under their belt this summer.

However, they had won the Murgitroyd Masterton Trophy final at the same ground earlier this month and they clearly like it there because at the weekend they put in a cracking performance.

Batting first, Carlton made 205 all out with Ali Shah top scorer with 45. Brendan O’Connelll and Dewald Nel took three wickets apiece for Sonians.

Chalmers then led the way with 52 not out, Andrew Fraser-Harris made 47 and Nel a quick-fire 28 not out as the visitors won by five wickets.

Chalmers said: “What pleased me most was that everyone in the team really stepped up.

“We have been close in a few matches this season but not been able to close them out so this victory against a good Carlton team should give us confidence for the coming weeks.

“Everyone bowled well and I am pleased the way that young players like Fraser Sands and Ally Sadler have done this term because they have had to take on quite a bit of responsibility.

“Andy Hislop and Andrew Learmonth got us off to a steady start with the bat and then Andrew Fraser-Harris came in when we had lost a clutch of wickets and batted as we know he can.

“Now we have to start looking up the table rather than down and try and get on a run.”

The loss is a blow to Carlton’s title hopes as leaders Mazars Grange won again.

They were restricted to 141-9 at Falkland batting first, Ryan Flannigan top-scoring with 30.

However, they bowled superbly with John Blain leading the way with four scalps as they won by 37 runs.

RH Corstorphine are still bottom after a loss at Autoecosse Forfarshire while Heriot’s trip to Aberdeenshire was off.

SMRH and Stuart&Stuart Penicuik were the local winners in the Baillie Gifford ESCA Championship.