Edinburgh City pair named in SPFL's League Two team of the year

Two Edinburgh City players have been included in the SPFL’s League Two team of the year for the 2020/21 season.

Friday, 11th June 2021, 3:02 pm
Josh Campbell in action for Edinburgh City in the League One play-off semi-final against Elgin City

Midfielder Josh Campbell who spent the campaign on loan at Ainslie Park from Hibs, bagged ten goals and four assists in 31 games including goals in both legs of the play-off semi-final victory over Elgin City.

He is one of four midfielders alongside Brian Cameron of Elgin, Grant Gillespie of Queen’s Park, and Stranraer’s Andy Stirling.

Campbell was joined by City colleague Liam Henderson. The defender scored five goal in 23 matches including a nine-minute hat-trick of headers in a 5-2 win against Albion Rovers in December last year.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Liam Henderson's performances secured him a place in the defence

Henderson, whose performances for City earned him a move to Championship side Arbroath, was joined in the backline by Queen’s Park pair Lee Kilday and Michael Doyle with Spiders goalkeeper Willie Muir also named in the team.

The three-man attack comprised Thomas Orr of Stranraer, Stirling Albion striker Andy Ryan, and Elgin City marksman Kane Hester.

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by Coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

If you haven't already, please consider supporting our sports coverage with a digital sports subscription.